Read The Girl in the Letter by Emily Gunnis Online

The Girl in the Letter

Gripping. Mesmerising. Haunting. Heart-breaking. Once you've heard her story, you will never forget The Girl in the Letter. Perfect for fans of Kate Morton, Lesley Pearse and Kathryn Hughes, this page-turning, moving novel of separation and long-buried secrets will stay with you forever.A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret's. Before it is too late.Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret's set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a sixty-year-old myste...

Title : The Girl in the Letter
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 40189902
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 384 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Girl in the Letter Reviews

  • Berit☀️✨

    4.5 Mesmerizing Stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟.5

    This was such a heart wrenching captivating story very reminiscent of “before We Were Yours”; One of my top reads of 2017... i’m not a big fan of comparing books, but in this case it is almost impossible not to... from the duel timelines to the horrific treatment of children steeped in history... if you enjoyed BWWY you will absolutely be entranced by this book as well....

    There are so many layers to the story... so many well-developed multi dimensional characters, but
    ...more

  • Joy Lenton

    This tantalising book proves that the past is rarely a foreign country that is seldom visited. On the contrary, it has deep resonance with our lives in the present, even when we barely register it. And sometimes it jumps out to bite us.

    One way we keep the past alive is via old letters that provide intriguing clues to events that took place, as we see here. These surviving relics are rich in mystery and unsolved secrets, ones that link generations and provide evidence to help convict the guilty
    ...more

  • Selena

    I received a free e-copy of The Girl in the Letter by Emily Gunnis from Goodreads for my honest review.

    Ivy Jenkins is sent to St. Margarets in 1956. She is pregnant but not married and her family is ashamed. She is told that when she has her baby, it will be adopted and then she gets to go back home.

    In present-day, Sam, a mother and journalist is exhausted and needs a break in her career. She comes across a letter and decides to investigate the information in it. Further letters emerge come for
    ...more

  • Claire Baxter

    The Girl in the Letter is an engaging mystery based around a home where young, unmarried, pregnant girls were sent to have their babies in the 60s. Told from the perspectives of two main characters and jumping forwards and backwards in time to tell the story, the book keeps you interested until the end. I found the writing to be a little clunky at times but enjoyed the story and thought it was further improved by the references at the end to the author's research into the true stories of these h ...more

  • Eva

    4.5* --> 5*

    Wow! The Girl in the Letter has left me rather speechless and let me tell you that doesn’t happen very often. I feel quite lost for words and slightly incapable of forming any kind of coherent sentence, nor do I have a clue as to how to do this novel justice.

    In her debut novel, Emily Gunnis tackles one of the most disturbing topics in history. That of the mother and baby homes, where single expecting mothers were sent to give birth away from the disapproving eyes of relatives and n
    ...more

  • Joanna Park

    Wow this was a stunning read! I really can’t believe this was a debut novel, the book is so well written and paced perfectly that makes it very hard to put down. I instantly felt involved in the characters lives and stories and wanted to know more about them.

    This is an incredibly poignant and emotional story made even more so because it is true. The events in this book actually happened, unmarried women were treated this way and their babies were taken from that which is truly heartbreaking to r
    ...more

  • Jo

    I downloaded this book after stumbling across it whilst looking for some free kindle books. And what a hidden gem it was too! I read the book in two sittings and couldn’t wait to get home from work to find out how the story unfolded. A lovely read, despite some of the horrid tales.

  • Pauline

    Girl in the Letter by Emily Gunnis is the sad story of unmarried girls who are sent by their families to mother and baby homes to give birth and the way they are treated while they are there. This book also tells the story of Kitty who is looking for her sister who was left at the home and Samantha the journalist who will stop at nothing for this story to be told. I would like to thank NetGalley and Headline for my e_copy in exchange for an honest review.