Read The Seclusion by Jacqui Castle Online

The Seclusion

In the year 2090, America has walled itself off from the rest of the world. When her father is arrested by the totalitarian Board, a young woman sets out to escape the only country shes ever known.While on a routine assignment scouting the viability of dwindling natural resources outside the massive urban centers most American citizens call home, Patricia Patch and her co-worker Rexx discover a relic from the past containing dangerous contrabandunedited books from before The Seclusion. These texts will spark an unquenchable thirst for the truth that sees Patchs father arrested by the totalitarian Board.Evading her own arrest, Patch and Rexx set out across a ruined future United States, seeking some way to escape the only home theyve ever known. Along the way, they learn about how their country came to be this way and fall in love. But their newfound knowledge may lead to their own demise....

Title : The Seclusion
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781947848511
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 300 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Seclusion Reviews

  • Tonja Drecker

    This is a book for fans of books like Divergent or The Giver as it goes deep into the life of one young woman as she slowly awakens to a greater world around her.

    Patricia is satisfied with life. She's got a better job than most with more freedoms than many and has a caring family. The Board, the ruling group, won't tolerate anything beyond their rules, but she's okay with that. Until her and her best friend, Rexx, make a discovery which turns everything they've been taught on its head. Suddenly,
    ...more

  • Kerys

  • Bella

    I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review:

    Wow what a ride! The Seclusion was a mixture of The Giver, 1984 and V for Vendetta all rolled into a nice package with a little touch of Trump thrown in. WOW again.

    The Characters:

    Patch: What an amazingly strong female lead character. We need more strong females like this in books. She was intelligent, questioned things on her own and didn't have to depend on others to rescue her in every situation.

    Rexx: My sweet boy, what a doll. While I wi
    ...more

  • Fernando

    The Seclusion is a fascinating and frightening YA book about what the United States could look like in the near future if border walls were built and an oppressive government took power. Jacqui Castle created a timely story, acutely relevant to current events and our current governmental situation. My word cloud about this book: border walls, isolationism, oppression, evil, oligarchy, authoritarian nationalism, total control. These are heavy themes but the story is fashioned beautifully for a YA ...more

  • Elli Andrews

    Patricia lives to work for the Board, a totalitarian government that rules a futuristic version of America surrounded by a giant wall. When she and her friend Rexx make a discovery from the past however, she starts to question everything she has ever believed…

    The Seclusion for me is very reminiscent of 1984 or Equilibrium - not that that is particularly a bad thing as I enjoyed both of those stories, it just makes it a little predictable in places. An indoctrinated protagonist who find something
    ...more

  • Michelle

    In real life, the idea of building a wall to keep people out illegally sounds like a good idea to some people. But what if they built a wall that kept you in? Everyone in a place of authority lied the same lie, only let you know what you needed to know to do your job, and you couldn't speak of it outside of work? And then you find evidence of the real truth...I need the next book! This was amazing, easy to relate to reality.

  • Pibrocher

    America unified and secure - what price would you be willing to pay?

    The Seclusion provides a great vehicle for exploring this question and leaves the reader hoping that this all too possible tale remains a work of fiction. The nation's citizens are cared for, protected, and entertained - all of this in exchange for their unerring obedience and disclosure - So what should a smart, obedient scientist do when she discovers something they don't want anyone to know?

    I loved Patch's journey from duti
    ...more

  • Kerri

    This book is eerily prophetic. First they built the southern wall. They built the northern wall. Then America gave up every freedom for it's own "safety". Although sometimes heavy handed, with a bit of uninspired dialogue, this book was a horror story of the worst kind. Surely the beginning of a series, I am afraid of where it (and we) might end up in this narrative.