Read Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan Online

Ignite the Stars

Everyone in the universe knows his name. Everyone in the universe fears him. But no one realizes that notorious outlaw Ia Cocha is a seventeen-year-old girl.A criminal mastermind and unrivaled pilot, Ia has spent her life terrorizing the Olympus Commonwealth, the imperialist nation that destroyed her home. When the Commonwealth captures her and her true identity is exposed, they see Ias age and talent as an opportunity: by forcing her to serve them, they will prove that no one is beyond their control.Soon, Ia is trapped at the Commonwealths military academy, desperately plotting her escape. But new acquaintancesincluding Brinn, a seemingly average student with a closely-held secret, and their charming Flight Master, Knivescause Ia to question her own alliances. Can she find a way to escape the Commonwealths clutches before these bonds deepen?In this exhilarating edge-of-your-seat sci-fi adventureperfect for fans of The Lunar Chroniclesdebut author Maura Milan introduces our world to a ...

Title : Ignite the Stars
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780807536254
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 400 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Ignite the Stars Reviews

  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔

    More space sci-fi plus an Asian protagonist? SOLD! Not a fan of the cover though so might just get the Kindle edition.

  • ALEXA

    3.5 stars! Even though initially I almost felt like this would be rated lower because the pacing and set-up felt a little clunky, I actually really ended up enjoying myself. It was a fun space adventure (that I could see as a film or tv series with more development)!

  • Julie

    I was pretty sure I'd enjoy this, but I absolutely underestimated how MUCH I would enjoy it. I was totally hooked and had a hard time putting this down. I read the second half of it pretty much in one go. I loved the characters, I loved the way different perspectives were manipulated and used to tell the story. I loved that the romances were largely subtle and in the background and I believed them (though I might've believed it more if it was queer but). The ending was stellar and the stakes wer ...more

  • Stef (Noveltea Corner)

    (I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own.)

    I was only a few pages into Ignite the Stars when I got the sinking feeling that I knew this story. Ignite the Starsis a very average young adult science-fiction story with a lot of familiar elements. And I mean ‘a lot.’

    Do you recognise any of these tropes and traits: a prickly, mercenary female character, caught and imprisoned and given a chance to redeem herself? A school-like environment
    ...more

  • Book_Girl_22

    I read an early version of this and I LOVED it. IA was such a kickass heroine, sarcastic and spunky, while Brinn was a very relatable character I could identify with. The chemistry between the two felt organic and sincere, and I liked that the author spent a good amount of time on their friendship, which often isn't the case in YA novels. But that doesn't mean there wasn't romance! Knives was dreamy and swoon-worthy, and the scenes between him and IA were filled with sparks.

    The action scenes wer
    ...more

  • Alexa

    I received an ARC through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

    In YA, it is not uncommon to have teenage protagonists lead armies, or be the smartest, most dangerous person around by the end of the book. Ia is not one of those protagonists. She is already the most dangerous criminal in the galaxy by the time she turns seventeen, and has been building her reputation for years.

    I admit that this tested my suspension of disbelief, which sounds strange to say in a sci-fi book with aliens. Still
    ...more

  • E L E A N O R (bookishcourtier)

    4.25

    I really love this! Review to come!

  • julianna ➹

    *sobs in asian*

    this was EVERYTHING I expected and more. I love the cover so much, even the vague and general space nebula background behind the model.

    Ignite the Stars was the manifestation of everything I’ve wanted in a sci-fi novel:

    → a badass Asian protagonist

    → a found family

    → a slow-burn-as-hell romance

    → subtle current-day political themes

    Seriously, Ia is amazing and she knows it.

    Also, why was this pitched as Throne of Glass in space? This has a similar premise, but the plot goes in a very di

    Sure, she killed people, but those people had killed hundreds before she got her hands on them. It was a bloody, bone-breaking kind of justice, but it was still justice.


    Ia is a teenage outlaw who’s basically ruthless and untrusting of anyone except her brother. She’s like Kaz but in female, Asian form and in space. And YOU BET she goes through an arc where she finds friends that won’t betray her. 💯👍🏼💯

    Brinn is hiding the fact that she’s half-Tawny, part of a widely discriminated against group, by dying her hair brown from its natural shade of blue. She’s basically a freaking genius and I love the subtle political theme behind her patriotism vs. her identity.

    Knives has a weird as hell name, but I still love him nonetheless. He’s an instructor at the space academy that literally just wants to lay low and do the bare minimum until Ia is thrown in his face, aka the most relatable character ever.

    This story starts with Ia being captured by the Olympus Commonwealth who decide that the best idea to deal with her is to have her train as a cadet for their military. (The Olympus Commonwealth colonizes a ton, btw.)

    Ia decides that she'll pretend to go along with this training, but she would gather information to try and break out. She ends up being roommates with Brinn, our half-Tawny.

    This was really refreshing as a science-fiction because unlike a lot more common science-fictions set in space, this still has many touches of the current world; like the presence of mass media as well the heavier themes of colonization. I feel that a lot of fans of Starflight would really enjoy this book.



    Her eyes narrowed at him. One day, he would realize that deadly things also come in small packages.


    Honestly, this had a fairly shaky beginning but by the ninth chapter/around 60 pages I was completely invested in the storyline, the characters, and their relationships.

    The romance wasn’t a huge plot point as much as our plot was about our characters learning to accept each others/themselves but I still really enjoyed reading it!

    I want to talk about the growing friendship between Ia and Brinn because it’s my favorite thing on. this. earth. Ia helps Brinn get in touch with her identity as a Tawny by teaching her things she didn’t even know about herself, like their abilities. Ia encourages Brinn to love the Tawny part of herself and I just? 💕💕💖💖💞💕💓💞💓

    And then Brinn helps Ia care for others and stays by Ia’s side even through Ia’s personal problems and I just? 💕💕💖💖💞💕💓💞💓💕💕💖💖💞💕💓💞💓

    The character development and relationships are seriously the highlight of this entire book and make up for the less original plotline/premise!! (...I saw the plot twist coming from the first chapter.)

    She'd go along with being a cadet for now, until they'd all forgotten about the Blood Wolf within their ranks. Once their defenses were down, only then would she flash her teeth.


    I loved the political theme centering around Brinn’s identity as a Tawny. Brinn tries to deny herself being half-Tawny not just by dying her hair, but by pretending as if it doesn’t matter/doesn’t exist. I could really connect to this narrative (even though I’m not biracial), and I’m sure so many other readers will too.

    There’s a moment in the book where she tries to convince herself that even though she’s Tawny, she wouldn’t be discriminated and then there’s a sinking feeling in her gut that she would be; I feel like this will be a very important book to many people.

    This book has a lot of discussion about patriotism; Brinn feels proud for the Olympus Commonwealth and feels extremely patriotic about the military while her family doesn’t understand how she can care so much for a place that doesn’t care for her. When she meets Ia, she feels disillusioned as she discovers that the Olympus isn’t as lawful and good as it claims to be.

    Anyways, I just really loved Brinn’s character development as she becomes more comfortable with her Tawny identity. 💞💕💓

    Brinn was technically half-Tawny, but in her eyes, she was a Commonwealth Citizen through and through. Only a Commonwealth Citizen.


    The couple of qualms I have about this book are mainly about its characterization of Ia. I feel like this book couldn't decide between having Ia being a vicious antiheroine vs. her being misconstrued as a villain when she's really all for justice. (Also, the curse word "mif" was used a lot and all I can say is ....interesting choice.)

    Overall, this book has such an amazing underlying message beneath its exterior of a space sci-fi and it’s going to be important for so many readers: both for its poc model on its cover and for its underlying political message. I highly recommend this book, for biracial people and poc especially. It's more than just a general science-fiction book. ...more