Read The Ragged Edge of Night by Olivia Hawker Online

The Ragged Edge of Night

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See, Beneath a Scarlet Sky, and The Nightingale comes an emotionally gripping, beautifully written historical novel about extraordinary hope, redemption, and one mans search for light during the darkest times of World War II.Germany, 1942. Franciscan friar Anton Starzmann is stripped of his place in the world when his school is seized by the Nazis. He relocates to a small German hamlet to wed Elisabeth Herter, a widow who seeks a marriagein name onlyto a man who can help raise her three children. Anton seeks something tooatonement for failing to protect his young students from the wrath of the Nazis. But neither he nor Elisabeth expects their lives to be shaken once again by the inescapable rumble of war. As Anton struggles to adapt to the roles of husband and father, he learns of the Red Orchestra, an underground network of resisters plotting to assassinate Hitler. Despite Elisabeths reservations, Anton joins this army of shadows. But when the SS di...

Title : The Ragged Edge of Night
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 38096424
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 340 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Ragged Edge of Night Reviews

  • Sue Holmes

    Great storyline and but I found the lyrical writing style disruptive to the flow and there was an unwelcome preachy element that kept poking through.

  • Haley Thomas

    2 Catholic 4 me. Also way overwritten and sappy.

  • Lavenderrose

    I chose this book as my First Read on September 1st, and was surprised to see that there were already several five star reviews on Amazon that morning – I can only conclude that these readers had advance copies and were thus in some way connected to the author or publisher. One of them declared that this book should be the Gold Standard for WW2 literature.

    Sorry, but it’s not. As a book set in Germany it can compare only weakly with The Tin Drum by Guenter Grass. No American can write a book abou
    ...more

  • Deborah

    Character-driven Excellence

    This is one of the best books I've read. Hawker's characters are believable, alive. The real people and their struggles, both physical and spiritual, transcend the setting in WWII Germany.

    When I read this story, I resonated with the humanity of all the people trying to survive during war.

  • Sandybfl

    Great book!

    This was a great story. It was very well written and very engaging. I literally cried tears of joy at the end. And then to be reminded it is based on a true story made it that much better. Highly recommend this one, would give it more than 5 stars if I could.

  • Ann-Marie

    This is a story of a plain man, a German living in the time of WWII Nazi Germany. He is a good man, a former friar, music teacher and soldier, who contracts to marry a widow whom he has never met, with three young children.

    They live in a very small town, off in the middle of nowhere, and the war doesn't touch them much. Until it does.

    Anton feels compelled to help the resistance by carrying messages, the family takes in refugees, and Anton starts up a children's band to divert interest from t
    ...more

  • Joann

    "The Ragged Edge of Night" is based on the real life experience of one of the author's family members. Set in Nazi Germany, the plot centers around friar Anton Starzmann, who is stripped of his position during the fascist government’s purge of religious clerics. He seeks solace in a woman who wants help raising her three children, but their ensuing marriage is more partnership than romance. Still, as the world war edges ever closer to home, the heartfelt relationship finds him growing closer to ...more

  • Emily

    Put this on your special book shelf beside The Diary of Anne Frank and A Gentleman in Moscow. Add Timothy Snyder's On Tyranny. Don't forget the author's notes at the end. And don't look at a single blurb till you've read the book.

    How I envy you if you have yet to read a page of this golden gift of literature.