Read The Ragged Edge of Night by Olivia Hawker Online

The Ragged Edge of Night

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See, Beneath a Scarlet Sky, and The Nightingale comes an emotionally gripping, beautifully written historical novel about extraordinary hope, redemption, and one mans search for light during the darkest times of World War II.Germany, 1942. Franciscan friar Anton Starzmann is stripped of his place in the world when his school is seized by the Nazis. He relocates to a small German hamlet to wed Elisabeth Herter, a widow who seeks a marriagein name onlyto a man who can help raise her three children. Anton seeks something tooatonement for failing to protect his young students from the wrath of the Nazis. But neither he nor Elisabeth expects their lives to be shaken once again by the inescapable rumble of war. As Anton struggles to adapt to the roles of husband and father, he learns of the Red Orchestra, an underground network of resisters plotting to assassinate Hitler. Despite Elisabeths reservations, Anton joins this army of shadows. But when the SS di...

Title : The Ragged Edge of Night
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 38096424
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 340 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Ragged Edge of Night Reviews

  • Darcy Lewis

    I loved this book, but it won't be for everyone. If you need your WWII fiction to be overtly dramatic and plot-driven, this novel might frustrate you. It's much more of a character study. I don't love the use of present tense throughout, but I do love that Anton and Elisabeth were real people only slightly fictionalized. Be sure to read Harder's "Opa and the bells" note in the afterword. I also love the fact that, while the story had been percolating within Harder for years, it took the U.S. 201 ...more

  • Greta Samuelson

    Historical fiction during WWII - definitely one of my favorite genres (if not my most favorite)

    I think the thing I like about these stories the best is the incredible strength and resilience that people had during a time so dark we cannot even imagine it.

    This book is about Germans living in a small town under Hitler’s regime and their story of resistance - their never ending resolve to do the right thing even in the face of danger.

    We can learn a lot from Elisabeth and Anton and Emil - if there
    ...more

  • Dennis Gabel

    The Tagged Edge of Night. By Olivia Hawker

    This is a timely book about one man and his new family's human experiences during the Second War. It is set in a very small , out of the way, village in Germany and based on the true story of one man' and his community's struggle with hardships and good and evil. I most definitely recommend it to every one about twelve and up.

  • Yvonne Doyle-Flatley

    Great story

    The book's beginning didn't capture my interest at first. But keep going! Historical fiction is at its best with this story. These characters will stay with you. The author's notes at the end about the real Anton interesting.

  • The Just-About-Cocky Ms M

    I rarely read book blurbs, even more rarely do I believe them, and never make a decision to read a book based upon its fulsome—and usually wildly ineffective and misleading—blurb.

    Case in point here: this novel is for “fans of All the Light We Cannot See, Beneath a Scarlet Sky, and The Nightingale.” I thought All the Light We Cannot See was adequate, but certainly not worth a Pulitzer or the gushing reviews that followed like lemmings. As for The Nightingale, I found it overwrought, rife with cli
    ...more

  • Kay A. Duncan

    Excellent book

    I have read many novels set in Nazi Germany, but this was totally different. It intimated the horrors of the Nazis but focused on the struggle to remain compassionate and to act in ways to sustain hope in basic human goodness.

  • Emily

    Put this on your special book shelf beside The Diary of Anne Frank and A Gentleman in Moscow. Add Timothy Snyder's On Tyranny. Don't forget the author's notes at the end. And don't look at a single blurb till you've read the book.

    How I envy you if you have yet to read a page of this golden gift of literature.

  • Mary Sue Wilson

    Excellent

    This is a well written novel taking place in a small German village. It is about ordinary people who do their part in fighting the enemy. It is a love story between two very different people. Most fascinating, it is based on a true story. I highly recommend reading it.