Read Guess Who by Chris McGeorge Online

Guess Who

A debut thriller that offers a fresh, modern twist on the classic "locked room" mystery novel, for readers of Noah Hawley and Jeffery DeaverThe rules are simple.But the game is not.At eleven years old, Morgan Sheppard solved the murder of a teacher when everyone else believed it to be a suicide. The publicity surrounding the case laid the foundation for his reputation as a modern-day Sherlock Holmes. He parlayed that fame into a gig as TVs resident detective, solving the more typical tawdry daytime talk show mysteries like Who is the father? and Is he cheating?Until, that is, Sheppard wakes up handcuffed to a bed in an unfamiliar hotel room. Around him, five strangers are slowly waking up, as well. Soon they discover a corpse in the bathtub and Sheppard is challenged to put his deductive skills to the test. One of the people in the room is the killer. He has three hours to solve the murder. If he doesnt find the killer, they all will die.An ingenious, page-turning debut, Chris McGeorge...

Title : Guess Who
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781335652829
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 368 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Guess Who Reviews

  • Chandra Claypool (wherethereadergrows)

    So here's the thing. I was in it to win it with this book. Had me captured from the first page.. and then about 3/4 of the way in… I was like waiiiit a minuuuteee… is this like SAW but NOT? And luckily it didn't go quite in the direction that I thought it would but it did veer in a completely different direction that I didn't expect (serious kudos for that) but also like WHAT?!

    The short chapters keep you moving quickly through the book. I LOVE hating on characters and I absolutely hated on Shep
    ...more

  • Empress Reece (Hooked on Books)

    Whoever is writing the synopses for his books should get a raise! I'm serious I had to read this book like immediately after reading that synopsis. I was a little scared though that it wouldn't live up to the high expectations I acquired after reading it but it got pretty damn close. Definitely not a bad start for a debut! My only complaint really is that all of the characters were so unlikable I didn't really have anyone to root for. If they all died in that room it really wouldn't have made on ...more

  • Dennis

    Saw meets Agatha Christie, in Chris McGeorge's debut tale Guess Who . Morgan Sheppard is a famous television detective, made notorious after figuring out a murder when he was a child. Flash-forward to the present day, Morgan is now living the life of an A-list celebrity in the UK. His television career has become more sensationalized as time progressed—think Maury, but probably classier. Morgan has wealth and he has fame, but consequently, that also creates enemies and rivalries. Morgan wakes u ...more

  • Jilles

    The plot seems exciting but is ridiculous, but what else is new in the latest trend of thrillers full of twists, unsympathetic characters and hardly no suspense. The more plot has to be explained in this book, the more messy it becomes with all these unbelievable twists. After being locked up in a room with a body and 5 people, one of which is the killer, and only 3 hours to solve the murder otherwise the whole building will be blown up, our flawed drugs and alcohol addicted hero starts to inves ...more

  • Olga Kowalska (WielkiBuk)

    „Człowiek bez demonów przeszłości nie jest prawdziwym człowiekiem.”

    Komu tęskno do klasycznych fabuł kryminalnych, ten w „Zgadnij kto” odnajdzie odpowiedź na swoje potrzeby. Chris McGeorge debiutuje intrygującą, współczesną historią, która wciąga, fascynuje i doprowadza czytelnika do białej gorączki swoją morderczą zagadką. Być może zabrakło tutaj błyskotliwości detektywa, ale diaboliczny złoczyńca sprytnie ciągnie wszystkich za swoje sznurki. A wszystko to w starym, dobrym dopracowanym stylu, za
    ...more

  • Casey

    While I disliked the main character, figured out the killer was within the first hundred pages, since the interview scene was just too obvious, and found this book to be a bit absurd, I liked it more than I expected and shall rate it 3.5 stars! I love authors that start their books off hot and heavy and do not get tired half way through, and that is exactly what Chris McGeorge did. Guess Who was a fun thriller and I enjoyed what a fast paced read this novel was because each chapter ended with me ...more

  • Carolyn

    3.5 stars. Thanks to NetGalley and Harlequin Publishing for an advance copy of this cleverly plotted locked room mystery. It is reminiscent of the old fashioned locked room mysteries of my youth but with a modern twist.

    The main character is Morgan Sheppard who gained fame for solving the murder of a teacher when he was 11 years old. He was given a reality show where he pretends to solve problems, but I fact the TV staff does the work and presents the solutions to him frequently by cue cards on
    ...more

  • Liz Barnsley

    This is the most fun I’ve had with a crime novel in AGES. It is literally like a game of Guess Who but with blood and death and destruction and a hotel room you just can’t escape from – all the suspects are there along with a dead body and all they have to do is work out which of them is a killer. Simple. Or not…

    Guess Who is an intelligent, immersive whodunnit – most excellent plotting allows you to solve the mystery if you are paying attention but distracts you with things like blood and hyster
    ...more