Read Guess Who by Chris McGeorge Online

Guess Who

A debut thriller that offers a fresh, modern twist on the classic "locked room" mystery novel, for readers of Noah Hawley and Jeffery DeaverThe rules are simple.But the game is not.At eleven years old, Morgan Sheppard solved the murder of a teacher when everyone else believed it to be a suicide. The publicity surrounding the case laid the foundation for his reputation as a modern-day Sherlock Holmes. He parlayed that fame into a gig as TVs resident detective, solving the more typical tawdry daytime talk show mysteries like Who is the father? and Is he cheating?Until, that is, Sheppard wakes up handcuffed to a bed in an unfamiliar hotel room. Around him, five strangers are slowly waking up, as well. Soon they discover a corpse in the bathtub and Sheppard is challenged to put his deductive skills to the test. One of the people in the room is the killer. He has three hours to solve the murder. If he doesnt find the killer, they all will die.An ingenious, page-turning debut, Chris McGeorge...

Title : Guess Who
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781335652829
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 362 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Guess Who Reviews

  • Tiffany PSquared

    I did not enjoy this book. I felt it was too derivative - specifically of the movie, Saw. And the dual timeline fell apart toward the end, making the story feel disjointed and, at one point, like you had entered a different (almost better) story altogether.

    I felt like I labored through the second half of the book - already knowing who the perpetrators were and just waiting for the MC to realize it. Turns out, surprise! I was right and the denouement was no surprise, but more than that - it wasn'
    ...more

  • Nicki

    Five people,one hotel room,a dead body in the bathroom and only three hours for Morgan Sheppard to figure out who the killer is amongst them or they are all going to die.That's the simple premise to this intricately plotted tale of deception,secrets,manipulation and revenge.It has more twists and turns and grips the reader just as tightly as the largest,fastest roller coaster.I admit you do have to suspend your imagination at times whilst reading it but hey,it's a fictional story.You want things ...more

  • Chandra Claypool (wherethereadergrows)

    So here's the thing. I was in it to win it with this book. Had me captured from the first page.. and then about 3/4 of the way in… I was like waiiiit a minuuuteee… is this like SAW but NOT? And luckily it didn't go quite in the direction that I thought it would but it did veer in a completely different direction that I didn't expect (serious kudos for that) but also like WHAT?!

    The short chapters keep you moving quickly through the book. I LOVE hating on characters and I absolutely hated on Shep
    ...more

  • Tracy Fenton

    My Review: Guess Who is a brilliant page turner which kept me guessing and I didn’t work it out until the actual reveal.

    A simple yet brilliantly plotted story about Morgan Sheppard a TV detective famous for his morning TV show “Resident Detective” who wakes up handcuffed to a bed in a hotel room with five strangers and one dead body.

    Sheppard has three hours to work out who the murderer is before they all die, however all the suspects are somehow connected to the victim especially Sheppard who is
    ...more

  • Olga Kowalska (WielkiBuk)

    „Człowiek bez demonów przeszłości nie jest prawdziwym człowiekiem.”

    Komu tęskno do klasycznych fabuł kryminalnych, ten w „Zgadnij kto” odnajdzie odpowiedź na swoje potrzeby. Chris McGeorge debiutuje intrygującą, współczesną historią, która wciąga, fascynuje i doprowadza czytelnika do białej gorączki swoją morderczą zagadką. Być może zabrakło tutaj błyskotliwości detektywa, ale diaboliczny złoczyńca sprytnie ciągnie wszystkich za swoje sznurki. A wszystko to w starym, dobrym dopracowanym stylu, za
    ...more

  • Kim ~ Traveling Sister ❄️⛄️

    The story opens up with local celebrity Morgan Sheppard waking handcuffed to a bed in a hotel room with five people he does not know. All five of the people in the room have no idea how they have gotten there, or so they say. One of them must because they are a killer. There is a dead body in the bathtub and someone knows how it got there. It is up to Sheppard to find out who. Or they all die.

    How is that for an opening? Absolutely intriguing right? It drew me right into the story. Unfortunately
    ...more

  • Jilles

    The plot seems exciting but is ridiculous, but what else is new in the latest trend of thrillers full of twists, unsympathetic characters and hardly no suspense. The more plot has to be explained in this book, the more messy it becomes with all these unbelievable twists. After being locked up in a room with a body and 5 people, one of which is the killer, and only 3 hours to solve the murder otherwise the whole building will be blown up, our flawed drugs and alcohol addicted hero starts to inves ...more

  • Katie

    I was in the mood for a light-hearted puzzle mystery book and this recently published “locked room” mystery seemed to fit the bill. A TV host detective with secrets in his past wakes up handcuffed in a hotel room and tasked with figuring out which of the five other kidnapped people in the room murdered the corpse in the bathroom. If he doesn’t solve the murder in three hours, his mysterious captor seen only on a TV screen threatens to blow up the whole building. I read the book all in one day an ...more