Read The High Season by Judy Blundell Online

The High Season

In a beach town overrun with vacationers and newly colonized by socialites, one woman goes to extreme lengths when the life she loves is upended. The ultimate summer read, this novel of money, class, and family is perfect for fans of Meg Wolitzer, Curtis Sittenfeld, and Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney's The Nest.No matter what the world throws her way, at least Ruthie Beamish has the house. Lovingly renovated, located by the sea in a quiet village two ferry rides from the glitzier Hamptons, the house is Ruthie's nest egg--the retirement account shared with her ex-husband, Mike, and the college fund for their teenage daughter, Jem. The catch? To afford the house, Ruthie must let it go during the best part of the year.It's Memorial Day weekend and Ruthie has packed up their belongings for what Jem calls "the summer bummer" the family's annual exodus to make way for renters. This year, the Hamptons set has arrived. Adeline Clay is elegant, connected, and accompanied by a "gorgeous satellite" step...

Title : The High Season
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780525508717
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 416 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The High Season Reviews

  • Julie Daniels

    This was really good and I loved all the stories of the different characters and how they tied together. I definitely appreciate the bigger moral of the story though- that life is about what you make it. Not being the victim. But there were a few things that bothered me with one of the ways the author tried to go about making that point. I don't want to give anything away but it was the reason I took a star off. Other than that it was a really enjoyable book that I do recommend.

    If you're lookin
    ...more

  • Kendall

    What a breathe of fresh beachy air!! This is definitely what the book doctor ordered for Kendall ;)

    The High Season by Judy Blundell is a funny and quirky novel with just the right amount of gossip!

    Ruthie Beamish has the perfect life... living in a cute beach town located close to the famous Hamptons. Ruthie lives in a world of money, class, and glamour. What more can she ask for? Director of a high-class museum, mother of a sassy 15. year old, and living in the house that is everyone's dream. Th
    ...more

  • Shelley

    Betsy DeVos would probably like this book a lot because it's about her people and her people are rich assholes who sold their souls to the devil for expensive yachts and hired help who would later be turned over to immigration officials. Yes, the characters here are that miserable.

    No, this is not a story about people growing, smoking, or selling pot. That would have been more interesting than 393 pages of rich people doing nothing.

    I tapped out at the halfway mark and skimmed the rest hoping th
    ...more

  • Dana Blazsek

    Thank you to Bookish First and Random House for this book in exchange for an honest review.

    I would honestly rate this book between 2 and 3 Stars, but that’s still not an option on goodreads even in 2018. The High Season by Judy Blundell was a read I thought would be completely up my alley. It slightly missed the mark.

    There were many characters to follow— almost too many. So some characters were extremely developed and others became background pieces that would just pop up every now and again.
    ...more

  • Ginger

    I read this book over the course of the summer... each section on the summer holiday it too place, from Memorial Day to Labor Day. Except I forgot to finish it on Labor Day.

    Turns out, when I discovered it unfinished on my stack (it happens), it was just as good when they’re threatening snow flurries tomorrow than it was while the months were hot.

    This is Judy Blundell’s best yet. Her YA is quite good, but this was very fine. She does an excellent job of pacing, dribbling enough conflict that the
    ...more

  • Jonetta

    Ruthie Beamish is living a complacent life along with her 15-year old daughter and ex-husband Mike. They’ve been amicably separated for three years and jointly own a house located in a quaint but tony village on the north fork of Long Island (the Hamptons are on the south fork). They’re not one of the wealthy residents but their lives are interwoven with them as Ruthie is the director of the town’s museum, the Belfry. However, in order to afford the upkeep on the home and survive financially, ea ...more

  • Meredith B.  (readingwithmere)

    3 Stars...maybe even 2.5 if I'm being honest

    First off, thank you to Goodreads and the publisher, Random House for this ARC via Goodreads giveaway.

    This book just wasn't for me as you can see from my rating. I unfortunately struggled to stay engaged with this book through the entire thing. I was confused with the characters throughout the book however I kept going because I had hoped it would continue to get better.

    Ruthie was married to Mike. They were two artists who dated, got pregnant and rush
    ...more

  • Cathy

    Slow start and I found it difficult to relate to the characters. About halfway through I became more interested and enjoyed the last half of the book.