Read The High Season by Judy Blundell Online

The High Season

In a beach town overrun with vacationers and newly colonized by socialites, one woman goes to extreme lengths when the life she loves is upended. The ultimate summer read, this novel of money, class, and family is perfect for fans of Meg Wolitzer, Curtis Sittenfeld, and Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney's The Nest.No matter what the world throws her way, at least Ruthie Beamish has the house. Lovingly renovated, located by the sea in a quiet village two ferry rides from the glitzier Hamptons, the house is Ruthie's nest egg--the retirement account shared with her ex-husband, Mike, and the college fund for their teenage daughter, Jem. The catch? To afford the house, Ruthie must let it go during the best part of the year.It's Memorial Day weekend and Ruthie has packed up their belongings for what Jem calls "the summer bummer" the family's annual exodus to make way for renters. This year, the Hamptons set has arrived. Adeline Clay is elegant, connected, and accompanied by a "gorgeous satellite" step...

Title : The High Season
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780525508717
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 416 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The High Season Reviews

  • lucky little cat

    Okay, here's my favorite book of the summer.

    In a novel stuffed with fascinating beautiful people behaving rawther badly, one very good woman gets fed up with being the little red hen and gives badness her own best shot. Intrigue and flirting-with-disaster ensue. Blundell handles multiple perspectives and a twisty, satisfying plot beautifully.

    keywords: the perils of being the reliable decent one; curse your sudden and inevitable betrayal; I'd help you but I don't wanna break a nail; here' ...more

  • Kate Vocke

    Summer Drama never felt so good! I really enjoyed The High Season - it was just what I needed to get me into a summer mood, and it made me love to loathe the rich and famous Hamptons crowds even more! (kidding... sorta.) This book kept me wicked entertained and I breezed through it in two days. The writing is so good, hilarious at times, and the story is masterfully crafted and really clever!

    Ruthie is sort of losing it all. Her marriage is over, her 15 year old daughter is struggling and distant
    ...more

  • eyes.2c

    Summer awakenings!

    Oh my! The opening paragraph describing the detritus sitting around Ruthie Beamish's household was so aptly familiar I was hooked from the get go!

    Those "post-it's with phone numbers marooned from their meaning."

    What could I do but read on, beckoned by an understandable world into something completely different.

    Fast, witty and acidic, a look at relationships ending and new beginnings in unexpected ways.

    A glittering story of the summer invasion of the Hamptons. Only this time
    ...more

  • Cindy Roesel

    Ruthie has the perfect life, but she has to give it up every summer, so she can keep it.

    On Long Island, New York, whether you're on the south shore in the Hamptons or the North shore, on the Sound, THE HIGH SEASON begins Memorial Day and ends Labor Day weekend.

    Author, Judy Bundell sets her sight on the rich and not necessarily so famous of the North shore in her novel, THE HIGH SEASON (RandomHouse). It puts the microscope on those who live to wine and dine and spend the money they have and don't
    ...more

  • Donna Hines

    The elitist of the Hamptons come on down as we celebrate how to one up each other as the key to fame.

    Perhaps if I was wealthier and not bankrupt I could get into all the glitter, glitz, and glam but for me it just fell short.

    Those who focus on material possessions as achieving fame wind up in the end seeking outsiders to applaud them and for me I don't seek applause I work for a cause. When the possessions are long gone you need to have internal peace, tranquility, happiness and a legacy to lea
    ...more

  • Kim

  • BookGypsy

    I loved this story! If you're an art lover you'll love this. An emotional yet humorous read. A story of a family and how one summer suddenly changes everything. The haves and the have not's. Smart,classy,real! One of our top picks for summer.

    Dawnny

    BookGypsy

    Novels N Latte

    Book Blog

  • Tatiana

    This is nothing like her historical YA novels. Rich people having problems while relaxing in the Hamptons. Pass.