Read Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas Contreras Online

Fruit of the Drunken Tree

In the vein of Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, a mesmerizing debut set against the backdrop of the devastating violence of 1990's Colombia about a sheltered young girl and a teenage maid who strike an unlikely friendship that threatens to undo them both.The Santiago family lives in a gated community in Bogot, safe from the political upheaval terrorizing the country. Seven-year-old Chula and her older sister Cassandra enjoy carefree lives thanks to this protective bubble, but the threat of kidnappings, car bombs, and assassinations hover just outside the neighborhood walls, where the godlike drug lord Pablo Escobar continues to elude authorities and capture the attention of the nation.When their mother hires Petrona, a live-in-maid from the city's guerrilla-occupied slum, Chula makes it her mission to understand Petrona's mysterious ways. But Petrona's unusual behavior belies more than shyness. She is a young woman crumbling under the burden of providing for her family as the...

Title : Fruit of the Drunken Tree
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780385542722
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Fruit of the Drunken Tree Reviews

  • Monica Kim: Reader in Emerald City

    Multiply me when necessary. Transform me into light where there is shadow. — Ingrid Rojas Contreras, Fruit of the Drunken Tree

    .

    .

    Ingrid Rojas Contreras’ debut novel, “Fruit of the Drunken Tree” was inspired by the author’s own personal experiences. This is a beautiful, emotional, heartbreaking coming-of-age story set against the backdrop of the beautiful, but violent Colombia in the 1990’s, at the height of druglord Pablo Escobar's violent reign. It’s a difficult read, there’s lot of devastating
    ...more

  • Karla Strand

    Ingrid Rojas Contreras was born and raised in Bogotá, Colombia, and this is where her remarkable debut novel, Fruit of the Drunken Tree, takes place.

    In a time when Pablo Escobar, infamous drug lord and head of one of the most dangerous criminal families in the world, was at the height of his power, seven year old Chula and her family enjoy relatively safe lives. That is until Chula’s curiosities about their new maid, Petrona, get the better of her. Petrona and Chula develop an unlikely and heart
    ...more

  • Kathleen

    Colombian-American author Contreras has set her poignant tale in Colombia during the rise-and-fall of Pablo Escobar (1989-1994). The country’s social and physical infrastructure is imploding—car bombings, gangs, random blackouts, and kidnappers. The police force is largely corrupt. Assassinations of key figures occur with disturbing frequency—Minister of Justice, the newspaper Editor-in-Chief, and even Luis Carlos Galan, the presidential candidate.

    The author has the reader hear the story through
    ...more

  • Patrice Hoffman

    Wow! What an incredibly moving and touching story. Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas Contreras delivers a vivid, profoundly engrossing coming of age story that is told through two young girls who couldn't be more different, yet, they share a connection that is unheard of given the circumstances

    Fruit of the Drunken Tree begins with the primary narrator, Chula, studying a photo of a young girl she once knew in Bogota. Chula and her family live a relatively comfortable life behind the walls
    ...more

  • Resh (The Book Satchel)

    SO FANTASTIC. THIS BOOK DESTROYED ME. I cannot find a single thing that was not right in the book or writing. And wow, what an excellent writer Ingrid is.

    Biggest book hangover. Review for another day. READ IT!!!

  • Chrissie

    I do not like the writing found in this book.

    The prose, how a book is written and what characters say, is very important to me. I want a child to speak as a child does speak. A child and an adult have not the same vocabulary. Is a third grader going to say the following?

    "It was at that moment I realized how fragile life really is?"

    Not in my opinion. This is merely one example of many. A book’s credibility is tied to believable prose.

    A mismatch between the words and the age of the person speaki
    ...more

  • Judith E

    Told through the eyes of two young girls, this is a sad and moving story of Colombia during the Pablo Escobar reign of terror. It is a murky and desperate setting that illustrates the wide divide between economic groups in Bogata and the terror in which both groups live.

    A strange story but a promising debut by Ingrid Rojas Contreras. 3.5 stars.

  • Ace

    I added this then removed it from my TBR but then changed my mind and picked it up again. It was a bit of a hard slog for me, I know nothing of this history of Columbia and didn't have internet access to look anything up. The main issue I had with this was that I had to try to keep remembering that Chula was a small child and yet the writing seemed to me to be representing a much more mature teen or someone closer to young adult. I am afraid it didn't work for me like some other GR friends here. ...more