Read Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas Contreras Online

Fruit of the Drunken Tree

In the vein of Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, a mesmerizing debut set against the backdrop of the devastating violence of 1990's Colombia about a sheltered young girl and a teenage maid who strike an unlikely friendship that threatens to undo them both.The Santiago family lives in a gated community in Bogot, safe from the political upheaval terrorizing the country. Seven-year-old Chula and her older sister Cassandra enjoy carefree lives thanks to this protective bubble, but the threat of kidnappings, car bombs, and assassinations hover just outside the neighborhood walls, where the godlike drug lord Pablo Escobar continues to elude authorities and capture the attention of the nation.When their mother hires Petrona, a live-in-maid from the city's guerrilla-occupied slum, Chula makes it her mission to understand Petrona's mysterious ways. But Petrona's unusual behavior belies more than shyness. She is a young woman crumbling under the burden of providing for her family as the...

Title : Fruit of the Drunken Tree
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780385542722
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Fruit of the Drunken Tree Reviews

  • Linda Barlow

    I want to give EVERYONE this book.

    This is a powerful and beautifully written book. In the tradition of masterful Latin American writers, this story conveys the history of Colombia in the early 1990’s, the time of FARC, Pablo Escobar, kidnappings and violence. It’s the story of families and relationships and how the political circumstances affected everyone. The story is told from the point of view of a little girl named Chula and the family’s maid Petrona. The impossible choices made and secrets
    ...more

  • Katie Peach

    Fruit of the Drunken Tree is a beautifully written novel set in Colombia during the time of Pablo Escobar. The story is told primarily by a young girl named Chula who lives in Bogota. The story also focuses on Petrona, a teenage girl who works for Chula's family. Chula and Petrona become friends and Petrona's presence ends up having a huge impact on Chula and her family.

    I didn't know much about Colombia prior to reading this novel and I feel like I learned a lot about the country and I now want
    ...more

  • Dorie

    *NOW AVAILABLE*

    First of all I think I’m in love with the cover of this book, what gorgeous color and pop this cover has! However the seeds from the “Drunken Tree” were used in making a very dangerous drug called “burundanga” used by many criminals in Bogota. “Victims who reported being drugged with burundanga woke up with no memory of sometimes assisting in the looting of their own apartments and bank accounts, opening their wallets and handing over everything, but that’s exactly what they had
    ...more

  • KC

    Inspired by accounts of her own life, author Ingrid Rojas Contreras' debut novel tells the tale of two young women facing Columbia's violence and civil unrest stemming from drug lord Pablo Escobar. With the daily threat of kidnapping, murder, car bombs and assassinations, the people of this country struggle to keep each other out of harms way, with the unrelenting hope of peace. Today, as countless families seek political asylum around the world, this story is profoundly reflective of this time.

  • Lolly K Dandeneau

    via my blog: https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com/

    "Mamá said Papá had to work far away because there were no jobs in Bogotá, but all I knew was sometimes we told Papá about things, and sometimes we didn’t."

    The Santiago’s lives behind a gated community may as well be a different world entirely from where their new, thirteen year old maid Petrona comes from. Despite their differences, or perhaps because of them, Chula is drawn into a friendship with her. Where Chula and her sister Cassandra spend
    ...more

  • Creager

    With her father away at work, Chula lives with her sister, Cassandra and her mother in Bogota, Colombia in a kingdom of women. With the naïveté of childish wonder pimpled with desperation Chula comes of age amidst civil unrest, car bombs, first loves and news of The Guerrilla, fiend and hobgoblin, Pablo Escobar. When Petrona comes to serve as a maid in her house her presence enchants the imaginative Chula and her protection as they try to navigate the adult world.

  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader

    4 stars to Fruit of the Drunken Tree! ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

    When I saw Fruit of the Drunken Tree compared to Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, I knew it was a must-read for my list.

    Ingrid Rojas Contreras’ debut is set in Colombia in the 1990s. It is focused on the Santiago family living in Bogota in a gated community. Gates are necessary because of the extreme political unrest in the country at the time. While the children are insulated from the world, just outside those protective bars are kidnappi
    ...more

  • Kara Leann

    Thank you to Doubleday Books for the free review copy via Netgalley. This was the first book I read set in Colombia and I was blown away. I learned so much about Colombia, Colombian culture, and Pablo Escobar. What we see in the news is so different than the perspective of actual Colombian citizens. I was surprised to learn that Pablo Escobar was not universally hated, but actually loved in his hometown. Ingrid Rojas Contreras' writing truly transported me to Colombia and made me feel as though ...more