Read Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas Contreras Online

Fruit of the Drunken Tree

In the vein of Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, a mesmerizing debut set against the backdrop of the devastating violence of 1990's Colombia about a sheltered young girl and a teenage maid who strike an unlikely friendship that threatens to undo them both.The Santiago family lives in a gated community in Bogot, safe from the political upheaval terrorizing the country. Seven-year-old Chula and her older sister Cassandra enjoy carefree lives thanks to this protective bubble, but the threat of kidnappings, car bombs, and assassinations hover just outside the neighborhood walls, where the godlike drug lord Pablo Escobar continues to elude authorities and capture the attention of the nation.When their mother hires Petrona, a live-in-maid from the city's guerrilla-occupied slum, Chula makes it her mission to understand Petrona's mysterious ways. But Petrona's unusual behavior belies more than shyness. She is a young woman crumbling under the burden of providing for her family as the...

Title : Fruit of the Drunken Tree
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780385542722
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Fruit of the Drunken Tree Reviews

  • PorshaJo

    Sometimes we are drawn to books by the cover, by the name, or even just the description. Well, it could also be the author too. But when I saw the name of this book, I was hooked. I knew I wanted to read it. Then, I saw it was about Columbia and Pablo Escobar and I immediately went to my library to grab it.

    It tells the story of one family living in Bogota and their maid. Oh yeah, and in the world of Pablo Escobar. The story alternates between the young girl in the family, Chula, and their live-
    ...more

  • Janelle

    Thank you so much Doubleday Books for providing my free copy of FRUIT OF THE DRUNKEN TREE by Ingrid Rojas Contreras - all opinions are my own.

    This is a gorgeous, heart-wrenching debut that I completely devoured. Set in Bogotá, Colombia, in the 1990’s, the story begins with seven-year-old Chula Santiago and the Santiago’s maid, thirteen-year-old Petrona Sánchez during the time of Pablo Escobar, guerrilla warfare, corruption, the imminent threat of violence, kidnappings, and car bombings. This is
    ...more

  • Tania

    Headlines were our funeral song.


    3.5 stars. Be warned Fruit of the Drunken Tree has a very slow start. So much so, that I actually gave up just before the 20% mark. Luckily a GR friend mentioned in her review that she had the same issue, but that the pace picked up exponentially one you pass this point.

    Wow, and what a turnaround it was. In fact the deeper I got into this book the more the writing, the story and the characters hooked me. Chula's voice was heartfelt and genuine, probably because t ...more

  • Jenny

    No matter who we are, what are race, religion, socio-economic background, we share some basic emotions and feelings. Fear, joy, love, jealousy, anger, sadness and hope are some of those emotions and feelings. What makes us different is our reaction to those feelings and the situations that brought about them.

    Ingrid Rojas Contreras's debut novel, "Fruit of the Drunken Tree," takes us to the South American country of Colombia during the extremely violent and turbulent 1990's when drug-lord, Pablo
    ...more

  • Karla Strand

    Ingrid Rojas Contreras was born and raised in Bogotá, Colombia, and this is where her remarkable debut novel, Fruit of the Drunken Tree, takes place.

    In a time when Pablo Escobar, infamous drug lord and head of one of the most dangerous criminal families in the world, was at the height of his power, seven year old Chula and her family enjoy relatively safe lives. That is until Chula’s curiosities about their new maid, Petrona, get the better of her. Petrona and Chula develop an unlikely and heart
    ...more

  • Dorie  - Traveling Sister :)

    *NOW AVAILABLE*

    First of all I think I’m in love with the cover of this book, what gorgeous color and pop this cover has! However the seeds from the “Drunken Tree” were used in making a very dangerous drug called “burundanga” used by many criminals in Bogota. “Victims who reported being drugged with burundanga woke up with no memory of sometimes assisting in the looting of their own apartments and bank accounts, opening their wallets and handing over everything, but that’s exactly what they had d
    ...more

  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader

    4 stars to Fruit of the Drunken Tree! ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

    When I saw Fruit of the Drunken Tree compared to Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, I knew it was a must-read for my list.

    Ingrid Rojas Contreras’ debut is set in Colombia in the 1990s. It is focused on the Santiago family living in Bogota in a gated community. Gates are necessary because of the extreme political unrest in the country at the time. While the children are insulated from the world, just outside those protective bars are kidnappi
    ...more

  • Elyse Walters

    Library Overdrive Audiobook....

    .....narrated by...Marisol Ramirez Almarie who was sooooooo outstanding....I had visions of bright changing colored fireworks in the sky. Her voice was perfect - flawless for this incredible- magnificent Latin American novel.

    Once I started this Audiobook (testing my ass), I literally did not want to stop being in this world. ‘We’ ( my buddy iPhone/ audiobook), and I, made the bed, folded laundry, took a 90 minute walk, rode the bike in the house, did stretching e
    ...more