Read The Hope of Azure Springs by Rachel Fordham Online

The Hope of Azure Springs

Seven years ago, orphaned and alone, Em finally arrived at a new home in Iowa after riding the orphan train. But secrets from her past haunt her, and her new life in the Western wilderness is a rough one. When her guardian is shot and killed, Em, now nineteen, finally has the chance to search for her long-lost sister, but she won't be able to do it alone.For Azure Springs Sheriff Caleb Reynolds, securing justice for the waifish and injured Em is just part of his job. He's determined to solve every case put before him in order to impress his parents and make a name for himself. Caleb expects to succeed. What he doesn't expect is the hold this strange young woman will have on his heart.Debut author Rachel Fordham invites historical romance readers to the charming town of Azure Springs, Iowa, where the people care deeply for one another and, sometimes, even fall in love....

Title : The Hope of Azure Springs
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780800734732
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 336 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Hope of Azure Springs Reviews

  • Carole Jarvis

    Reviewed at The Power of Words: https://bit.ly/2KWngyt

    Iowa, 1881

    The description of The Hope of Azure Springs by debut author Rachel Fordham was appealing, so I decided to try it – and I’m so glad I did! The beginning pages quickly pulled me in, and I was immediately drawn to the heroine, Em. There’s some suspense, but this is primarily a character-driven story, my favorite style to read. This is a heartwarming story of loss, love and resilience of spirit.

    I confess to expecting this to be a typic
    ...more

  • Mayda

    This engrossing work of historical fiction will capture your interest from the very first page, and even after you finish the tale, it will leave you pondering the characters. Em is an unlikely hero. Sent west with her younger sister on the orphan train, they are taken by different people. Em is taken by a man who barely acknowledges her existence and who treats her exceedingly poorly. She vows someday to be reunited with her sister. Fate steps in in a cruel way, and Em, nearly twenty, finds her ...more

  • Olivia

    With an eye-catching cover and a new author, I was so thrilled to be able to read this book. There were good reminders of getting past the struggles of the world and facing each day with a smile. Also, the light humor sprinkled throughout the pain and grief created a story that is realistic in all of our worlds.

    While I did enjoy this book, I did struggle with being drawn in by the main characters. Some of it was that a lot of dialogue was contrived and didn't fully show the potential of Em and C
    ...more

  • Sarah Monzon

    For fans of Melanie Dickerson, Regina Jennings, and Melissa Jagears. :)

  • Staci

    The Hope of Azure Springs is a sweet debut. The main story is about Em finding her sister Lucy. They were both children that road an Orphan Train from New York City to Iowa. Em and Lucy found families in two different towns and have been separated for seven years. Em was taken in by a single man that paid little attention to her. A tragedy brings Em to Azure Springs. The story that unfolds shows character growth of Em and several other characters. The ending is incredibly satisfying. Readers tha ...more

  • Amy

    I’m never really a fan of a storyline constantly reminding us of the ‘plainness’ of a main character, it irritates me. Sometimes though I find it pointless to the plot. In this case, as much as I didn’t like it, I appreciated it was pivotal to much of the development that happens.

    If you’ve read any of the many recent novels being written about the Orphan Trains - of which there has been quite a few, then this story will already begin with you having a pretty good idea to what it was and what ha
    ...more

  • Joy

    I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    I'm not much of a fan for historical fiction but this one was hard to put down.

    Em's life hasn't been a all diamonds and roses. All she's known is loneliness and pain. Having been seperated from her sister on an orphan train heading west, Em is determined to get back to Lucy. Problem is...she's not sure how she's gonna do it.

    Then one day she's shot and the man who took her in is dead. Now her life's in danger and there's only o
    ...more

  • Perrianne

    Em was separated from her little sister Lucy during an orphan train adoption. It’s been seven long years and she finally escapes the skinflint who barely cared for her. She is accustomed to scratching out a living while this man is away frequently and she lives in his dilapidated falling down barn. There is a shootout and her guardian is killed, and Em is shot and plays dead until she’s rescued by the sheriff. The skin and bones feisty little waif is invited to convalesce in a kind family’s home ...more