Read The Girl From Blind River: A Novel by Gale Massey Online

The Girl From Blind River: A Novel

A gritty tale of how far well go to protect the ones we love for fans of Daniel Woodrells Winters Bone and Emma Clines The Girls from Gale Massey, a talented new name in crime fiction.Everyone says the Elders family are nothing but cheats, thieves, and convictsa fact nineteen-year old Jamie Elders has been trying desperately to escape. She may have the natural talent of a poker savant, but her dreams of going pro and getting the hell out of the tiny town of Parsons, New York are going nowhere fast. Especially once she lands in a huge pile of debt to her uncle Loyal. At Loyals beck and call until her debt is repaid, Jamie cant easily walk awaynot with her younger brother Toby left at his mercy. So when Loyal demands Jamies help cleaning up a mess late one night, she has no choice but to agree. But disposing of a dead man and covering up his connection to the towns most powerful judge goes beyond family duty. When it comes out that the victim was a beloved athlete and Loyal pins the murd...

Title : The Girl From Blind River: A Novel
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 36472797
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 101 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Girl From Blind River: A Novel Reviews

  • Suanne

    The Girl from Blind River is a fast-paced, impressive debut novel from Gale Massey. In it we meet Jamie Elders, a young woman of nineteen who’s trapped in Blind River, a small town where everyone knows everyone else’s business and in which children are pegged from birth to follow family bloodlines.

    When Jamie and her brother were young, their mother was sent to prison. Their uncle Loyal took them in, saving them from the “evils” of the Social Services Department. Anxious to break away and branch
    ...more

  • LV

    This is a fantastic, dazzling debut that provides glimpses into the underbelly of illegal gambling. It's a true page turner that will keep you engaged to the end. I can't wait to see the next book from this author!

  • Stephenie Geschwender

    I received an arc of this from the publisher Crooked Lane in exchange for a review. For me the ending is where all the best things happen. In the beginning the story moves very slow, and it is difficult to get into for about the first 100 pages. That being said once the story takes off the twist and turns keep you interested.

    That being said some criticisms that I have are all personal reader preferences. For one thing there are multiple perspectives in this book and I had a major plot point ent
    ...more

  • Rochelle

    Review forthcoming.

  • Diane S ☔

    The odds were against her from the start. Jamie Elders, 19, comes from a family of thieves, crooks and liars. Her mom, recently out of prison after eight years, Jamie and her younger brother Toby, were raised by their uncle Lloyd. Lloyd runs an illegal gambling ring, and pays money to a powerful local judge. Jamie wants nothing more than to escape Blind River, have a different life, but she has neither the money nor the means. Although her skill at cards may give her a chance, she has one weakne ...more

  • Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends)



    This book was bloody fantastic! The writing was excellent. It was well paced. The plot was super engaging and had me hooked right from the start. The characters were well developed and intriguing. I loved the gritty small town feel it had. The only negative thing and why this wasn't a complete 5-Star book, I thought the ending was a bit rushed. I would have liked a bit more closure. Or maybe a farther look into the future. Perhaps there will be a follow-up book? In any case, that was just a smal

    ...more

  • Coleen (The Book Ramblings)

    Blind River is a town you would not want to be caught in but Gale Massey has written the ideal atmospheric thriller that everyone should be reading this fall. A full review will be posted soon on the blog and here!

  • Linda

    All in or nothing.....

    Kinda hard when so much is at stake and the chips are always stacked against you.

    Jamie Elders is but nineteen. She's seen life through the eyes of one scraping at the slippery sides of this bottomless pit, just aching to get out. It's a seedy little town, Blind River, stashed away near the lonely railroad tracks in upper state New York. All roads lead to nowhere fast.

    But Jamie has a gift for the cards. She's learned from her sleazy uncle, Loyal, that the faster you shuffle,
    ...more