Read The Girl From Blind River: A Novel by Gale Massey Online

The Girl From Blind River: A Novel

A gritty tale of how far well go to protect the ones we love for fans of Daniel Woodrells Winters Bone and Emma Clines The Girls from Gale Massey, a talented new name in crime fiction.Everyone says the Elders family are nothing but cheats, thieves, and convictsa fact nineteen-year old Jamie Elders has been trying desperately to escape. She may have the natural talent of a poker savant, but her dreams of going pro and getting the hell out of the tiny town of Parsons, New York are going nowhere fast. Especially once she lands in a huge pile of debt to her uncle Loyal. At Loyals beck and call until her debt is repaid, Jamie cant easily walk awaynot with her younger brother Toby left at his mercy. So when Loyal demands Jamies help cleaning up a mess late one night, she has no choice but to agree. But disposing of a dead man and covering up his connection to the towns most powerful judge goes beyond family duty. When it comes out that the victim was a beloved athlete and Loyal pins the murd...

Title : The Girl From Blind River: A Novel
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 36472797
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 501 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Girl From Blind River: A Novel Reviews

  • Coleen (The Book Ramblings)

    Blind River is a town you would not want to be caught in but Gale Massey has written the ideal atmospheric thriller that everyone should be reading this fall. A full review will be posted soon on the blog and here!

  • Liz



    This book did a slow burn and caught me all in. I was as nervous as Jamie at the casino. And she’s got plenty of trouble. She’s loyal to her brother, despite him being a bully and damaged goods.

    Massey paints a grim picture of Blind River. We all know these kind of towns that are beyond down on their luck. “Small town bullshit. She’d been born into it and knew exactly how her life would play out if she stayed. Two or three kids, a divorce or two. A dead-end job that would keep her half-starved i
    ...more

  • Melki

    "What's in store for you? A life of ratty babies, meaningless jobs, waiting tables like your mother, or living off welfare and the taxes of hard-working people. Or worse? That's all there is for girls like you. No one expects a thing better from your kind."

    The rumor around town is that the Elders family is cursed, and nineteen-year old Jamie Elders believes that to be true. She'd like nothing more than to blow the snow and ice of crappy little Blind River, NY, off her shoulders, and head to sunn
    ...more

  • Glenda Bailey-Mershon

    I like few books as much as The Girl from Blind River. If I could give it 4.5 stars, I would only because it meanders just a bit early on in setting up Jamie Elder’s story. But four stars just won’t do. Why? Because, wow, this is one great debut novel.

    This book may be marketed as crime or mystery, but don’t be fooled. The author, Gale Massey, has a message she wants you to get and a theme she develops to provide the spine of the mystery, and she builds that framework and message brilliantly. Th
    ...more

  • Tracy Malenfant

    The Girl From Blind River jumps right in and moves quickly. There is a parallel between the skill, patience and ability to read people that Jamie has learned through poker that enable her to make difficult decisions, navigate family dynamics and analyze people. A mystery with depth…wonderful read from this debut author.

  • L Corky

    #TheGirlFromBlindRIver #NetGalley

    Thank you #NetGalley and Crooked Lane Books for the E-ARC copy of this book

    Life can be tough living in a small town where everyone knows everyone. It can be even tougher when your family has a terrible reputation. When Jamie's mother goes to prison her and her brother Toby move in with their Uncle Loyal. Loyal is a con man, running crooked poker games and gambling machines. Jamie is forced to work for her uncle and to help him hide a dead body. Will Jamie and her
    ...more

  • Mary Keliikoa

    I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of this amazing debut through Net Galley.

    Jaimie Elders is 19 and trapped in a small town, trying to live down the reputation of a mother who'd been in prison, a troubled brother where her loyalty runs deep, and being indebted to an uncle that has masked his reasons for taking her and her brother in for his own illegal gambling activities.

    The tale is familiar--a diabolical judge that runs the town, the married man who uses a young girl, a murder tha
    ...more

  • Stephenie Geschwender

    I received an arc of this from the publisher Crooked Lane in exchange for a review. For me the ending is where all the best things happen. In the beginning the story moves very slow, and it is difficult to get into for about the first 100 pages. That being said once the story takes off the twist and turns keep you interested.

    That being said some criticisms that I have are all personal reader preferences. For one thing there are multiple perspectives in this book and I had a major plot point ent
    ...more