Read Suicide Club by Rachel Heng Online

Suicide Club

In this debut set in near future NYCwhere lives last 300 years and the pursuit of immortality is all-consumingLea must choose between her estranged father and her chance to live forever.Lea Kirino is a Lifer, which means that a roll of the genetic dice has given her the potential to live foreverif she does everything right. And Lea is an overachiever. Shes a successful trader on the New York exchangewhere instead of stocks, human organs are now bought and soldshe has a beautiful apartment, and a fianc who rivals her in genetic perfection. And with the right balance of HealthTech, rigorous juicing, and low-impact exercise, she might never die. But Leas perfect life is turned upside down when she spots her estranged father on a crowded sidewalk. His return marks the beginning of her downfall as she is drawn into his mysterious world of the Suicide Club, a network of powerful individuals and rebels who reject societys pursuit of immortality, and instead chose to liveand dieon their own te...

Title : Suicide Club
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781250185341
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 339 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Suicide Club Reviews

  • Alexis

    I loved the concept behind this book. In the future, the population is falling. To try to keep it up, people are strongly encouraged to be super healthy and get various body enhancements and replacements. As a result, some people live to be over 100. Then there are the others - the sub-100s - who are the second-class citizens, who live and die like the mortals they are.

    The storyline is also really interesting. Lea is a lifer, and she tries so hard to be perfect. She has a great job, a fiancee, a
    ...more

  • Ova Incekaraoglu

    Unfortunately didn't finish- although reading up to 77%

    The start was perfect. Over a hundred years old and a dedicated lifer, Lea has an accident after seeing her longtime lost dad- and she cannot tell anyone about this. Because her dad is kind of a criminal. So the authorities think she was trying to kill herself by throwing herself under a car. And then she has to get inspected.

    Then there is Anja, her once famous opera singer mum is hundred years old and bound to machines, and she's trapped in
    ...more

  • Gemma F

    Update: April 11, 2018

    I'm so impressed right now.

    This is one book that gave me so many emotions and made me cry. Suicide Club reminded me of a mix between Black Mirror and this futuristic world that Rachel Heng created.

    I loved the themes, relationships between family, the overall impression of immortality and the way humankind was described in this book. Full review to come closer to the release date!


    July 18, 2017

    So stoked for this book written by a Singaporean! Can't wait to read this! 💕

  • Monnie

    "Brave New World." "Soylent Green." "Thelma and Louise." All of these - and a couple more classics - popped into my head as I read this mesmerizing debut novel. More to the point, if I were given the chance to live for hundreds of years - most of them sans anything I now consider fun to do, eat or wear - would I want it? Now that I've finished this book, I'm still not totally sure, but I've sure got plenty of considerations to factor into my decision (and a doggone good story to illustrate them) ...more

  • Jen

  • Tori (InToriLex)



    Content Warning: Animal Death, Violence, Graphic Internal  Body Descriptions

    Living forever in a future society that helps restore your body sounds like a utopia. But in this future world people have to meet certain standards to be given the treatments they need to love forever. This book builds character development flawlessly. I was rooting for the main character Lea despite some of her very unlikable traits. Lea is a lifer who at the age of 100 is trying to extend her life and hopefully be ...more

  • Melanie Garrett

    #SuicideClub is a gripping debut for fans of Margaret Atwood, Emily St John Mandel & George Saunders.

    If you like your near-future dystopias compelling and poignant, with clear philosophical underpinnings which question the way we live now, then get ready to join the Suicide Club. A tale of two loving daughters coming to terms with their parents’ mortality - or lack thereof.

    The action unfolds in a New York City that is still recognisable (nary a jet pack or flying car in sight) but where th
    ...more

  • Olga Fry

    Lea Kirino leads a picturesque life until a chance encounter with her estranged father throws her life into a tailspin. From there, her status as a "Lifer," someone with the potential to live forever is thrown into jeopardy as she grapples with a difficult decision. Does she want to repair her relationship with her father who has been out of her life for decades, or does she want to live life the way she always has; a genetically beautiful fiance, a gorgeous apartment, and a high-paying, respect ...more