Read Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman Online

Something in the Water

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut--for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena. If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you? Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman'...

Title : Something in the Water
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781524797188
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 342 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Something in the Water Reviews

  • JanB

    First the positives: The author narrates the audiobook and she does a fabulous job. The story opens with a great line: “Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave? Wonder no longer. It takes an age. However long you think it takes, double that.”

    With that line I was hooked. Until I read/listened to roughly 10 pages of details about the intricacies and details of digging a grave, including the cubic feet of the hole, and how much the soil weighs. Which, in case you are wondering, is
    ...more

  • Book of Secrets

    4.25 Stars → This anxiety-inducing book was A LOT of fun to read. It's gotten major buzz since it's a Reese's Book Club pick. There were 200 holds for it at my library, but I noticed ONE copy was available on the Limited Loan shelf at the branch across town. Of course, I’m there when they opened that morning to elbow my way to the top. I had to know what’s in the water!!

    The opening chapter starts with a bang. You're left wondering, how in the heck did it come to that?? The set-up: A honeymooning
    ...more

  • Norma * Traveling Sister

    3.5 Stars rounded up because I definitely found this book to be entertaining and had me totally glued to those pages!

    SOMETHING IN THE WATER by CATHERINE STEADMAN is an engaging, refreshing, and a steady paced thriller that immediately drew me in with its opening scene and had me totally intrigued in finding out what was in the water.

    So here’s the thing about my experience with this book. I have never been so unsure about my feelings about a book after finishing as I was with this one. There we
    ...more

  • Lucy Langford

    4****

    Have you ever wondered how to dig a grave? Wonder no longer. It takes an age. However long you think it takes, double that.

    This book had one of the best openings ever. After that, there is a slow build to the something in the water and the tumultuous set of events that happen after.

    Erin, a documentary filmmaker with the chance of a career breakthrough; Mark, a handsome investment banker. The slow build to this book builds on Erin and Mark's picture perfect relationship, they seem to have i
    ...more

  • Jennifer Masterson

    The story was just “meh” for me. The audio was incredible. The author is an actress from Downton Abby. If you don’t read a lot of thrillers you might enjoy this. If you do read a lot of thrillers you might find it just ok.

    I’m still in a rut. On to the next!

  • Julie

    Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman is a 2018 Ballantine publication.

    Slightly predictable morality tale with a nice hook and a few clever twists-

    You just got married, you’re in financial straits, looking at a drastic change in your quality of living standards, but you’ve already got a nice honeymoon planned in Bora Bora- so why not enjoy every minute of your vacation? That's what newlyweds Erin and Mark plan on doing before they head back to reality and an uncertain future.

    But, on a
    ...more

  • Carol (Bookaria)

    This is a thriller about a couple who find themselves in financial distress weeks before their wedding and the decisions they make afterwards will have life-changing consequences.

    Erin is a documentary filmmaker and Mark is a banker who loses his job days before the big day. They live in a very nice home and decide to go through with their planned wedding as well as the honeymoon despite the fact that they could make wiser financial decisions under the circumstances.

    Once in their dreamy Bora-Bor
    ...more

  • Ova - Excuse My Reading

    Full review here

    This might seem harsh but I really don't understand how this book got published in the way it is.

    THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

    STYLE AND WRITING

    Steadman’s writing, is not steady. Well. There is A LOT in this book. A LOT. In the beginning I thought: hey, she must be going into these details for a reason. Then the more I read, the more I became sure: there is no reason for us reading a wedding reception 3 course menu, and prices, for pages, OR how our character interprets a pregnan
    ...more