Read Something in the Water by Catherine Steadman Online

Something in the Water

A shocking discovery on a honeymoon in paradise changes the lives of a picture-perfect couple in this taut psychological thriller debut--for readers of Ruth Ware, Paula Hawkins, and Shari Lapena. If you could make one simple choice that would change your life forever, would you? Erin is a documentary filmmaker on the brink of a professional breakthrough, Mark a handsome investment banker with big plans. Passionately in love, they embark on a dream honeymoon to the tropical island of Bora Bora, where they enjoy the sun, the sand, and each other. Then, while scuba diving in the crystal blue sea, they find something in the water. . . .Could the life of your dreams be the stuff of nightmares?Suddenly the newlyweds must make a dangerous choice: to speak out or to protect their secret. After all, if no one else knows, who would be hurt? Their decision will trigger a devastating chain of events. . . .Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave?Wonder no longer. Catherine Steadman'...

Title : Something in the Water
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781524797188
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 342 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Something in the Water Reviews

  • Liz

    3.5 Stars

    This is billed as a thriller. But 1/3 in, I was still waiting. Yes, you know within the first few minutes that Erin is digging a grave. But then we go back and it reads more like chick lit. I found Erin initially very irritating. She had no clue about adjusting to her circumstances. She did grow on me and by the end of the book I liked her and appreciated her initiative.

    This is a very slow burn leading up to the big discovery. And even after the discovery, the pace doesn’t really pick
    ...more

  • Lucy Langford

    4****

    Have you ever wondered how to dig a grave? Wonder no longer. It takes an age. However long you think it takes, double that.

    This book had one of the best openings ever. After that, there is a slow build to the something in the water and the tumultuous set of events that happen after.

    Erin, a documentary filmmaker with the chance of a career breakthrough; Mark, a handsome investment banker. The slow build to this book builds on Erin and Mark's picture perfect relationship, they seem to have i
    ...more

  • Norma * Traveling Sister

    3.5 Stars rounded up because I definitely found this book to be entertaining and had me totally glued to those pages!

    SOMETHING IN THE WATER by CATHERINE STEADMAN is an engaging, refreshing, and a steady paced thriller that immediately drew me in with its opening scene and had me totally intrigued in finding out what was in the water.

    So here’s the thing about my experience with this book. I have never been so unsure about my feelings about a book after finishing as I was with this one. There we
    ...more

  • Carol

    3.5 Stars with a roundup to 4.0 because I REALLY could NOT put it down!

    "Digging a grave is very hard" as you will discover after reading the first chapter entitled, of course, The Grave.

    It all begins with an actual grave being dug, then quickly reverts back in time to the start of a new relationship, marriage and big plans for the future. Then, even though a big disappointment for the newlyweds rears itself, the expensive first class South Pacific honeymoon goes on....and an eerie and intense

    ...more

  • Malia

    Something in the Water was such a page turner! It started off a little slow, but then something happens and the pace picks up and never slows. I won't give away any plot details, because there are lots of twists and turns, but it was definitely an engaging story with multi-dimensional characters. I zipped through this book over the weekend and absolutely recommend it as a gripping, clever and entertaining summer read!

    Find more reviews and bookish fun at http://www.princessandpen.com

  • JanB

    First the positives: The author narrates the audiobook and she does a fabulous job. The story opens with a great line: “Have you ever wondered how long it takes to dig a grave? Wonder no longer. It takes an age. However long you think it takes, double that.”

    With that line I was hooked. Until I read/listened to roughly 10 pages of details about the intricacies and details of digging a grave, including the cubic feet of the hole, and how much the soil weighs. Which, in case you are wondering, is
    ...more

  • Linda

    Step back from the flame, honey.

    You're gonna get burned.

    Mark and Erin are on a stellar honeymoon in Bora Bora. Sun, sea, and each other. She's a documentary film producer and he's a successful investment banker. No worries. Or so it seems until they find something floating in the water. The depth of that ocean pales in comparison to the depth of problems that are gonna follow this couple home like stink on the back of a wayward skunk.

    How deep is deep enough?

    Catherine Steadman creates quite the
    ...more

  • Brandice

    I listened to Something in the Water via audiobook, read by the author, Catherine Steadman, and I really enjoyed it. I’m pretty sure I would have enjoyed the book regardless, but I found her narration and British accent to be soothing. Her characters and setting descriptions were vivid. The “thing” in the water was much different than what I anticipated prior to reading the book, which wasn’t a bad thing at all.

    Erin Locke is making a documentary about prisoners and their upcoming releases. Her
    ...more