Read The Subway Girls by Susie Orman Schnall Online

The Subway Girls

"Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely...Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann." Taylor Jenkins Reid, acclaimed author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo"A fast-paced, clever novel filled with romantic possibilities, high-stakes decisions, and harsh realities. Perfect for fans of Fiona Daviss The Dollhouse, this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in womens lives." Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions In 1949, dutiful and ambitious Charlotte's dream of a career in advertising is shattered when her father demands she help out with the family business. Meanwhile, Charlotte is swept into the glamorous world of the Miss Subways beauty contest, which promises irresistible opportunities with its Park Avenue luster and local fame status. But when her new friendthe intriguing and gorgeous fellow-participant Rosedoes something unforgivable, Charlotte must make a heart-wrenching decision that will ...

Title : The Subway Girls
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781250169761
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 320 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Subway Girls Reviews

  • Barbara

    I was a huge fan of the author's, The Balance Project and when I heard the premise of The Subway Girls, I knew I wanted to read it. The captivating story involves two time lines, 1949 with spunky Charlotte who wants to work in a NYC advertising firm as a copy writer. She's even willing to take a job in the typing pool (basically the only option for women at that time), but even that seems impossible. It looks like Charlotte is going to end up working at her families Brooklyn hardware store, unti ...more

  • Diane Perry

    I received this in a Goodreads giveaway. Thank you St. Martin's Press for the opportunity to read one of my favorite authors. This story was loving, inspiring and very enjoyable. I loved how past and present collided in this book. This is a fictionalized account of The Subway Girls campaign in the 1940s. Charlotte's story was inspiring and thought provoking. She is one thought cookie. Olivia is trying to compete in the ad world and comes across the story of the Subway Girls. Both women are a for ...more

  • Jamie

    This book absolutely captivated me from page one. Dual timelines and New York City had me sold off the bat but it was Olivia and Charlotte that wowed me. I loved the history of the Miss Subways contest as well as the familial bonds here, family struggles and difficulty of relationships, all set against the glamorous background of New York, my own city. The words jumped off the pages for me as I imagined my own subway rides and how I would love to see this advertising campaign on my own commutes. ...more

  • Brandice

    The Subway Girls is a dual timeline story about Charlotte, a young, ambitious woman in the 1940s, who wants to work in advertising more than anything, and Olivia, a young, ambitious woman working at an ad agency in 2018. Charlotte enters the Miss Subways contest in 1949, hoping it will help her get recognized, to propel her career forward. While driven and experienced, the agency Olivia works at is small and she fears her job may be on the line, so she puts everything into an upcoming pitch for ...more

  • Erin

    Thanks to NetGalley for an advanced ebook in exchange for an honest review.

    A dual narrative featuring two strong minded women trying to navigate the male dominated sphere of advertising in 1949/2018. I found this book really difficult to put down and so I didn't. I found the little known story of the Miss Subways contest to be very intriguing and I felt that both timelines were strong enough to not detract from the other. A great summer read!

  • Cindy Burnett



    In Schnall’s latest novel, she creates a dual-timeline tale that focuses on a small slice of New York City history, the Miss Subways competition that took place from the early 1940’s through the mid-1970’s. In 1949, Charlotte wants a career in advertising, but she is hampered by her father’s insistence that she help with the family’s business. She enters the Miss Subways competition in hopes of helping the family business which would then allow her to pursue advertising. In 2018, Olivia stumbles
    ...more

  • Sandra ~ ♥ Cross My Heart ♥

    The Subway Girls is a heart-touching story, one that held me in the palm of its hand right through the end. Readers should know it's not just another historical read, but rather a story that utilizes a small piece of history in the telling of the beautiful, seductive, emotional journey of two women in their pursuit of true happiness. I love the way the author uses two women from different generations to portray and compare the plight of women pursuing their dreams and the choices they're forced ...more

  • Sherri Thacker

    Wow what a book!!! 5 stars from me!!! Sometimes when a book goes back and forth from past to present, it gets confusing. But this book was wonderful. The book starts out in 1949 with Charlotte and it moves forward to 2018 with Olivia. I really enjoyed this book and did not want to put it down.