Read The Subway Girls by Susie Orman Schnall Online

The Subway Girls

"Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely...Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann." Taylor Jenkins Reid, acclaimed author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo"A fast-paced, clever novel filled with romantic possibilities, high-stakes decisions, and harsh realities. Perfect for fans of Fiona Daviss The Dollhouse, this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in womens lives." Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions In 1949, dutiful and ambitious Charlotte's dream of a career in advertising is shattered when her father demands she help out with the family business. Meanwhile, Charlotte is swept into the glamorous world of the Miss Subways beauty contest, which promises irresistible opportunities with its Park Avenue luster and local fame status. But when her new friendthe intriguing and gorgeous fellow-participant Rosedoes something unforgivable, Charlotte must make a heart-wrenching decision that will ...

Title : The Subway Girls
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781250169761
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 320 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Subway Girls Reviews

  • Cindy Burnett



    In Schnall’s latest novel, she creates a dual-timeline tale that focuses on a small slice of New York City history, the Miss Subways competition that took place from the early 1940’s through the mid-1970’s. In 1949, Charlotte wants a career in advertising, but she is hampered by her father’s insistence that she help with the family’s business. She enters the Miss Subways competition in hopes of helping the family business which would then allow her to pursue advertising. In 2018, Olivia stumbles
    ...more

  • Karen

    Great storytelling by Susie Orman Schnall. Fascinating to learn about the significant “Miss Subways” advertising success story that began in the early 1940’s by the John Roberts Powers Agency. CEO John Roberts Powers vision was to develop it for the promotion of the company’s models. Millions of people viewed these posters on the NY subway lines between 1941 through the mid-seventies. This book ties in two character perspectives related to this subject, 70 years apart.

    I loved the fictional aspec
    ...more

  • Cassie-Traveling Sister-

    I want to thank netgalley and the author for an advanced copy of this book! I loved this story it was a quick read and a light read , sometimes I need that after so many mystery’s and thrillers. The story takes place in 2018 with the character Olivia who works in advertising and 1949 and the character Charlotte, who is attending college for advertising and struggling to find her place in a mans word who think woman need to be at home in the kitchen and taking care of children. Olivia is trying t ...more

  • Elizabeth of Silver's Reviews



    We move from 1949 to 2018 and come across girls who auditioned for being a Subway Girl in 1948 to an advertising agency in 2018 that needs a new campaign to help the transit system get more ridership.

    The girls in 1949 were more than happy to have their photos plastered over the subways because it might get them a job in a different industry. The advertising agency in 2018 became interested in the Subway Girls as an ad campaign for themselves.

    Olivia who worked for the advertising agency had a br
    ...more

  • Erin

    Thanks to NetGalley for an advanced ebook in exchange for an honest review.

    A dual narrative featuring two strong minded women trying to navigate the male dominated sphere of advertising in 1949/2018. I found this book really difficult to put down and so I didn't. I found the little known story of the Miss Subways contest to be very intriguing and I felt that both timelines were strong enough to not detract from the other. A great summer read!

  • Diane Perry

    I received this in a Goodreads giveaway. Thank you St. Martin's Press for the opportunity to read one of my favorite authors. This story was loving, inspiring and very enjoyable. I loved how past and present collided in this book. This is a fictionalized account of The Subway Girls campaign in the 1940s. Charlotte's story was inspiring and thought provoking. She is one thought cookie. Olivia is trying to compete in the ad world and comes across the story of the Subway Girls. Both women are a for ...more

  • Chandra Claypool (wherethereadergrows)

    I used to think historical fiction was my least favorite genre. I'm being proved wrong over and over again these days, which makes me happy that I've expanded my diversity in reading. Turns out, I'm just not a fan of historical fiction that reads like a history textbook or spends too much time trying to teach me a lesson.

    Luckily, the The Subway Girls, the author journeys us back to 1949 through Charlotte's eyes and then to present day 2018, through Olivia's eyes. Both women trying to find a bal
    ...more

  • Rebecca

    Unable to find a job after college, yet determined to be independent, 21 yo Charlotte enters the Miss Subways beauty contest. Unbeknownst to Charlotte, taking this step towards independence, and away from her obligation to help out at her father's paint store, will change her life in unexpected ways.

    The dual timeline follows Charlotte in 1949 as she struggles to gain a foothold in the mostly male business world and Olivia seven decades later in 2018 as she navigates the current world of advertis
    ...more