Read The Subway Girls by Susie Orman Schnall Online

The Subway Girls

"Schnall has written a book that is smart and timely...Feels perfect for fans of Beatriz Williams and Liza Klaussmann." Taylor Jenkins Reid, acclaimed author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo"A fast-paced, clever novel filled with romantic possibilities, high-stakes decisions, and harsh realities. Perfect for fans of Fiona Daviss The Dollhouse, this engrossing tale highlights the role that ambition, sexism, and true love will forever play in womens lives." Amy Poeppel, author of Small Admissions In 1949, dutiful and ambitious Charlotte's dream of a career in advertising is shattered when her father demands she help out with the family business. Meanwhile, Charlotte is swept into the glamorous world of the Miss Subways beauty contest, which promises irresistible opportunities with its Park Avenue luster and local fame status. But when her new friendthe intriguing and gorgeous fellow-participant Rosedoes something unforgivable, Charlotte must make a heart-wrenching decision that will ...

Title : The Subway Girls
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781250169761
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 320 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Subway Girls Reviews

  • Erin

    Thanks to NetGalley for an advanced ebook in exchange for an honest review.

    A dual narrative featuring two strong minded women trying to navigate the male dominated sphere of advertising in 1949/2018. I found this book really difficult to put down and so I didn't. I found the little known story of the Miss Subways contest to be very intriguing and I felt that both timelines were strong enough to not detract from the other. A great summer read!

  • Sherri Thacker

    Wow what a book!!! 5 stars from me!!! Sometimes when a book goes back and forth from past to present, it gets confusing. But this book was wonderful. The book starts out in 1949 with Charlotte and it moves forward to 2018 with Olivia. I really enjoyed this book and did not want to put it down.

  • Rebecca

    Unable to find a job after college, yet determined to be independent, 21 yo Charlotte enters the Miss Subways beauty contest. Unbeknownst to Charlotte, taking this step towards independence, and away from her obligation to help out at her father's paint store, will change her life in unexpected ways.

    The dual timeline follows Charlotte in 1949 as she struggles to gain a foothold in the mostly male business world and Olivia seven decades later in 2018 as she navigates the current world of advertis
    ...more

  • Jamie Rosenblit

    This book absolutely captivated me from page one. Dual timelines and New York City had me sold off the bat but it was Olivia and Charlotte that wowed me. I loved the history of the Miss Subways contest as well as the familial bonds here, family struggles and difficulty of relationships, all set against the glamorous background of New York, my own city. The words jumped off the pages for me as I imagined my own subway rides and how I would love to see this advertising campaign on my own commutes. ...more

  • Yvonne

    The Subway Girls alternates it’s time between Charlotte’s life in 1949 and Olivia’s life in 2018. Essentially they have similar goals, but their time periods are quite different. Although in many ways quite the same. Each woman is fighting for her rights in the best way she can for the era she lives in.

    The one common goal that can help each of them is a contest that took place in the 1940’s to 1970’s called Miss Subways. This is an actual competition that occurred in New York City during that ti
    ...more

  • Simra S

    3.5 stars.

    The Subway Girls follows the life of two women in two different timelines. In 1949, a determined and confident 21 year old Charlotte Friedman, participates in the Miss Subways competition and her life goes on a rollercoaster ride after entering that beauty contest. The second story is set in 2018, Olivia, a hardworking girl finding and fighting her way in a world full of misogyny and male chauvinists. Olivia works for an advertising agency and comes up with the idea of connecting with
    ...more

  • Cindy Burnett



    In Schnall’s latest novel, she creates a dual-timeline tale that focuses on a small slice of New York City history, the Miss Subways competition that took place from the early 1940’s through the mid-1970’s. In 1949, Charlotte wants a career in advertising, but she is hampered by her father’s insistence that she help with the family’s business. She enters the Miss Subways competition in hopes of helping the family business which would then allow her to pursue advertising. In 2018, Olivia stumbles
    ...more

  • Shereen Lee

    I received a copy of this book from St. Martin's Press in exchange for an honest review. Plot elements mentioned may not be final.

    I loved the book's innovative concept, and its proficiency in toggling between two narratives. However, the characters and storyline seemed a little unrealistic to me, and I felt that some characterizations and narratives could be lazy at times. There's often little explanation or context behind relationship building throughout the book, and unrealistic actions are se
    ...more