Read Takeoff by Joseph Reid Online

Takeoff

High-octane action, celebrity glamour, and endless possibilities for danger meet in this fast-paced debut for fans of John Sandford and Lee Child.Still reeling from a devastating personal tragedy, air marshal turned investigator Seth Walker embarks on his first case. All he has to do is accompany female pop star Max Magic to Los Angeles and deliver her to the FBI. But when their routine flight ends in a hail of gunfire at LAX, Walker has no choice but to take the frightened diva on the run.After a second attack leaves him battered and bloody, Walker realizes he cannot trust the FBI. To keep his client alive, he must use a patchwork of trusted aviation contacts to get her home to Austin, where the key suspects await.But as they race to stay one step ahead of their deadly pursuers, the biggest danger of all may be what theyre heading towardthe dark secrets that Max herself has been keeping...

Title : Takeoff
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781543659955
Format Type : Audio CD
Number of Pages : 582 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Takeoff Reviews

  • Jim Schneider

    And so another hero lives...

    Well written, good enough story to keep me engaged and an ending that didn't appear as though the author got bored and had mentally moved on to his next story by mailing it in. But, as what happens with every comic book hero and pap novel good guy there's a bit too much of the ridiculous or maybe just astonishing good fortune that he lives to eventually prevail in the end. Thus it tied up neatly and our hero, just like dodging all those machine gun bullets and a serio
    ...more

  • L.G.

    4.5 stars

    Offered through Amazon's First Read program. Loved the cover, but a great start to an action series about former federal air marshal, Seth Walker. Big, tattooed, shaved head, he's a smart hero with an engineering bent who also happens to design and patent his inventions through his friend and lawyer, which nicely explains his financial situation. The series starts with him on leave (his girlfriend just died in circumstances that obviously had to do with a prior case - not fully explain
    ...more

  • Dee

    Takeoff - Seth Walker Bk 1 - Written by Joseph Reid

    Don’t pick this up unless you're ready to read the night through, UNBELIEVABLE AND ADDICTING!!

    High-octane action, celebrity glamour, and endless possibilities for danger meet in this fast-paced debut for fans of John Sandford and Lee Child. Still reeling from a devastating personal tragedy, air marshal turned investigator Seth Walker embarks on his first case. All he has to do is accompany female pop star Max Magic to Los Angeles and deliver her
    ...more

  • Tony Giannattasio

    Interesti ng first novel in a series.

    A good first novel. The characters were well developed. The story was very good with twists and turns in the plot. I subtracted a star as he would at times just write and write and write. Sometimea leas is more. In this novel there were definite times when less would have made a more interesring book.

  • Steven Mastroyin

    I thought this was a fun action story with fun, if trope-y, characters. Quick read, the plot carries you along nicely, you never really feel lost about what is happening. If you are a huge fan of heroes for whom everything seems to work out because they are just that much a force of nature, then you will like this. And, frankly, those types of characters have been wildly successful (I'm thinking more Dirk Pitt than James Bond here)

    The beginning of the book I thought was the worst part. We are in
    ...more

  • Cindy

    This was a First Reads selection from Amazon and I really enjoyed this. I will be looking for more from this author.

    This was the introduction of a new thriller series and the hero is similar to others in this genre - a man with a somewhat tragic past who's trying to put them behind him and rebuilt his life. He has, shall we say, a particular set of skills...including shooting copters out of the air while in a moving plane with a handgun/shotgun. Okay, some of this does involve a bit of suspensio
    ...more

  • MartyAnne

    I couldn't think of any way to improve it...

    That makes me sound full of myself, but what reader doesn't think to themselves, well that part seemed wrong... But the fact remains, I can't think of any ways to improve this story. Max Magic was a VIP in need of some protection, and her story was fascinating. Even so, the book as a whole was ship-shape; every character added something necessary and real. Scenes all had merit, giving the reader more information in a tight loop. And that's why I gave t
    ...more

  • Wendy

    Takeoff is a debut novel for author Joseph Reid and I think it turned out pretty good for a first novel. Former Air Marshall Seth Walker became publicly known so could no longer travel incognito hence the change to investigator. As his first assignment back on the job he is to escort/protect teen pop star Max Magic from one group of FBI agents on the east coast to another group on the west coast. He is assured repeatedly this will be an easy job. When Seth and Max exit the airport the hail storm ...more