Read Nightbooks by J.A. White Online

Nightbooks

A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell her a new scary story each night to stay alive. This thrilling contemporary fantasy from J. A. White, the acclaimed author of the Thickety series, brings to life the magic and craft of storytelling.Alexs original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon hell run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. Hes loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most dont have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, hes desperate for a different endingand a way out of this twisted place.This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writers block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales....

Title : Nightbooks
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062560100
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Nightbooks Reviews

  • Ms. Yingling

    E ARC from Edelweiss Plus

    Alex ventures down to the basement of his apartment building to burn his creepy short stories that he feels make him a weird outsider, and he hears his favorite movie playing in an apartment when the elevator stops on the wrong floor. Even though he knows better, he knocks on the door, and when the woman who answers invites him in, he enters her apartment. Too late! She's Natacha, an evil witch who kidnaps and enslaves children, and now he is stuck! She intends to keep h
    ...more

  • Hazel West

    Gah! J. A. White is definitely one of my absolute favorite middle grade authors. I loved his Thickety series, and Nightbooks did not disappoint either. It's quite a bit different than his other series, but just as deliciously dark. I loved the nods to 1,001 Nights and Hansel and Gretel in this one.

    Alex is an extremely likable (and for me relatable) character. A kid who loves and writes horror stories so everyone things he's weird and his teachers think he's on course to being a psychopath or so
    ...more

  • Marathon County Public Library

    Alex loves scary stories, the scarier the better. His favorite movie is Night of the Living Dead, so when he sneaks out of his parent’s high-rise apartment, he is naturally drawn to an odd level apartment where he hears the movie playing. However, when Natacha invites him in, he discovers that there appears to be no way to escape. The apartment is enchanted by this witch, Natacha, who orders him to write and read his scary stories to her every night, even though there is a whole library of scary

    ...more

  • Fenny (wit.and.reading)

    I was provided an e-ARC of this book by Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review!

    read my full review here: https://witandreading.wordpress.com/2...

  • Sandy O'Brien

    “You’re not like everyone else, and there’s nothing you can do about it! We are what we are. These stories, they’re just the real you bubbling to the surface...”

    Being trapped in a room full of books would be a dream, but not when a witch is the one that traps you there. #MGlit

  • La La

    Even though this was much more suited to Middle Grade age readers than the author's Thickety books, because there was no graphic violence, it had other problems. The good parts were very very good, but the dry boring parts were longer than they had to be. It felt almost like filler, which to me makes no sense in MG because younger kids still like books that don't take forever to read. The boring segment in the beginning worries me a bit because most MG aged readers will drop a book like a hot po ...more

  • Pop Bop

    More Than Just Scheherazade Lite

    When I looked at the blurbs for this book I got the impression that it would end up as a sort of scary story anthology loosely held together by a Scheherazade frame. I was wrong. This is much more interesting than only that, in terms of being a fully realized tale, and while it's somewhat predictable it ends up being more like a clever and engaging improvisation on Hansel and Gretel.

    MILD PREMISE SPOILER. Our hero, Alex, has drawn the attention of his teachers and
    ...more

  • Melanie Dulaney

    My personal rating is 3 stars, but readers of scary, creepy and gruesome will rate it much higher. The main character of Nightbooks is Alex, lover of monsters, dark magic, and anything terrifying. He records his very creative horror stories in regular black and white composition books until an event pushes him to destroy them. On his way to do just that, he is lured into an apartment in his building and enters a witch’s lair. (Shades of Hansel & Gretel.) Poor Alex is thrust into a prison wit ...more