Read Nightbooks by J.A. White Online

Nightbooks

A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell her a new scary story each night to stay alive. This thrilling contemporary fantasy from J. A. White, the acclaimed author of the Thickety series, brings to life the magic and craft of storytelling.Alexs original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon hell run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. Hes loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most dont have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, hes desperate for a different endingand a way out of this twisted place.This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writers block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales....

Title : Nightbooks
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062560100
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Nightbooks Reviews

  • KWinks

    This was an exciting read! I love stories within stories and each of the little bonus tale is pretty chilling! What I loved about this was the originality and the fresh modern spin. No spoilers, but Alex is dealing with something that I had to deal with when I was younger and I have NEVER seen in print before-an adult giving BAD advice to a child without looking further into the situation.

    There are a lot of great discussion points here for a book club to work with. Now I want to read his other
    ...more

  • Laurie

    Interest Level: 5-8; Reading Level: 6.4

    How cool would it be to live in an apartment that had a magical library that had thousands and thousands of books? Dream come true, right? Wrong! Not this apartment and not this library! Alex sneaks out one night to destroy a book of his writings that he loves so much, but on the way he gets tricked to go into an apartment in his building, the apartment of a witch named Natacha. There is one other child there, Yasmin, who tells him there is no escape from t
    ...more

  • Laura Gardner

    A L E R T ! T H I S O N E I S C R E E P Y...

    5/5 for NIGHTBOOKS by @jawhitetbooks

    .

    ~

    ~

    The testament to how much I loved this book? I was listening to it on Sora and had to stop because 2x speed wasn't fast enough for me. I had to know what happened! Grabbed a physical copy and finished yesterday afternoon while completely ignoring my children (#momlife).

    .

    ~

    ~

    This one is GOOD. It has been a while since I have read a middle grade book as deliciously scary as NIGHTBOOKS...maybe since THE NEST by @kenne
    ...more

  • Sarah

    I was drawn to this book by the stunning cover art, and the story inside completely captivated me. This was a perfectly creepy read for the fall season!

    Alex is a boy with a talent for writing dark and disturbing tales. This talent comes in handy when he is imprisoned by a powerful witch who demands a new scary story every night. Fortunately for Alex, he is not alone in his predicament. A girl named Yasmin is also being held captive and forced to work for the witch. Alex desperately wants to find
    ...more

  • Zayda (Babybibliophile)

    Alex has always liked stories, especially scary ones. But when he is kidnapped by a witch living in a nearby apartment, his life is forever changed!

    Wonderful, wonderful read that completely caught me off guard and sucked me in immediately!

  • Ashleigh

    Nightbooks follows Alex, a young boy who, while sneaking out of his apartment at night to destroy his books full of scary stories, or his Nightbooks, in his backpack, is enticed by a witch into another apartment, and essentially kidnapped. She tells him that she wants him to tell her a scary story each night and he needs to write new stories all day every day.

    Alex knows there's a slight difference between story scary and real scary, and is struggling with writer's block since coming into the
    ...more

  • Elizabeth Tyree

    A book about stories, friendship, and defeating your self doubts...and a lot of magic. What could be better?

  • Devin

    This was an interesting, quick read! I know it's middle grade, but I really wish it was written as a YA novel so it was scarier. However, I understand it was written for children so it can't be too scary. I also loved that it involved classic Hansel and Gretel vibes! AND there is an amazing cat sidekick whom I loved! A great read overall, and I will be saving this to read to my children someday.