Read My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan Online

My Oxford Year

Set amidst the breathtaking beauty of Oxford, this sparkling debut novel tells the unforgettable story about a determined young woman eager to make her mark in the world and the handsome man who introduces her to an incredible love that will irrevocably alter her futureperfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks.American Ella Durran has had the same plan for her life since she was thirteen: Study at Oxford. At 24, shes finally made it to England on a Rhodes Scholarship when shes offered an unbelievable position in a rising political stars presidential campaign. With the promise that shell work remotely and return to DC at the end of her Oxford year, shes free to enjoy her Once in a Lifetime Experience. That is until a smart-mouthed local who is too quick with his tongue and his car ruins her shirt and her first day.When Ella discovers that her English literature course will be taught by none other than that same local, Jamie Davenport, she thinks for the first time that Oxford m...

Title : My Oxford Year
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062740656
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 352 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

My Oxford Year Reviews

  • Melanie A.

    3.5 STARS

    I've just lived years of my life in those eyes.
    Soooooo . . .

    Unpopular opinion ahead. . .

    Here's the premise:
    "You're the hypercompetitive American, a Rhodes scholar no less, who sees Oxford as a series of hurdles to clear like levels in some video game, and I? I'm the hypocritical poetry scholar, espousing grand theories of love whilst shagging a different wench every night."
    Sounds so good, right?

    Unfortunately, despite being well-written, despite being polished until it gleame ...more

  • Jillian Reynolds (Jillian Loves Books)

    Soooo.....



    I don't know. I'm speechless, because this isn't what I thought it was going to be. This wasn't entirely what I signed up for. So I somehow have to weed through the fact that I was looking for a certain type of story, but I actually got something else entirely....

    Give me like, a solid day to reconcile my combative feelings here, and I'll return for an actual review.

  • Evelyn

  • Rachel Reads Ravenously

    3 stars

    This is a book that’s been getting a lot of great buzz, a lot of my book friends really loved it and I’ve been hearing good things all around. I was a fan of Julia on the show Once and Again and I had the pleasure of meeting Julia at another author event for a book she narrated and she’s absolutely lovely. All those things combined, I was very eager to read this book and really wanted to love this book and I had high hopes. And while I didn’t love it, I enjoyed it and I think this was a
    ...more

  • Christy

    5+ stars!!!



    “The hardest thing is love, with no expiration date, no qualifiers, no safety net. Love that demands acceptance of all things I cannot change. Love that doesn't follow a plan.”


    My Oxford Year by Julie Whelan is a real gem of a book! It took me by surprise in the best way! I’ve listened to many audio books narrated by Ms. Whelan (she is an amazing narrator) and I’m happy to report that her writing is amazing as well. I listened to this in audio, it was narrated by her of course, an ...more

  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)

    This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.

    Honestly, this was fantastic! I just really loved everything about this delightful story. I know Julia Whelan from her work as a narrator so I was really curious about this book as soon as I saw it. I decided to give it a try simply because of my curiosity and didn't really know much about the book beyond my guess that it would be about someone spending a year at Oxford (nothing gets past me). This book is really so much more than th
    ...more

  • Jessica

    The moment I heard that this book was going to be made into a movie starring Sam Heughan, I HAD to read it. The story itself sounded right up my alley as well. A romance in Oxford between an American and her new professor? Yes, please!

    Ella Duran has always dreamed of studying at Oxford. When her dream finally comes true, she can't believe she gets to spend a year studying literature. What she doesn't expect is to get the opportunity to work for a political campaign and make the changes in Ameri
    ...more

  • Sheyla ✎



    "Love. That’s my choice. "


    If you read the blurb, then you know this is going to be a tear jerker at some point. How you might say? Jojo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks names are mentioned in it. That's enough, don't you think?

    Yet, I must have missed it since I wasn't prepared.



    What I can say about My Oxford Year without spoiling it for you? I will tell you that I loved it. Yes, at some point I was crying. It was inevitable. But, at the end of the day, I was pleasantly surprised by it.

    My Oxford Yea ...more