Read My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan Online

My Oxford Year

Set amidst the breathtaking beauty of Oxford, this sparkling debut novel tells the unforgettable story about a determined young woman eager to make her mark in the world and the handsome man who introduces her to an incredible love that will irrevocably alter her futureperfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks.American Ella Durran has had the same plan for her life since she was thirteen: Study at Oxford. At 24, shes finally made it to England on a Rhodes Scholarship when shes offered an unbelievable position in a rising political stars presidential campaign. With the promise that shell work remotely and return to DC at the end of her Oxford year, shes free to enjoy her Once in a Lifetime Experience. That is until a smart-mouthed local who is too quick with his tongue and his car ruins her shirt and her first day.When Ella discovers that her English literature course will be taught by none other than that same local, Jamie Davenport, she thinks for the first time that Oxford m...

Title : My Oxford Year
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062740656
Format Type : ebook
Number of Pages : 352 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

My Oxford Year Reviews

  • Monica Kim

    But the hardest thing is staying. The hardest thing is living with dying. Loving with dying. The hardest thing is love, with no expiration date, no qualifiers, no safety net. Love that demands acceptance of all things I cannot change. Love that doesn't follow a plan. — Julia Whelan, My Oxford Year

    .

    .

    This is a command, add this to your tbr list ASAP!!! Please, please don’t let the year pass without reading this book, please! You’ll not regret it. I freaking love this novel so much. As soon as I fi
    ...more

  • Ginger at GReadsBooks.com

    With a strong opener, I was really into this novel. Then something happened & I’m left feeling a little “meh” about it all. I wish I could put my finger on it, but something overall just didn’t satisfy me the way I was hoping it to. This saddens me because I was really into it for the first half. Guess you can’t love everything you read!

  • Jamie-leigh Haughn

    Oh. My heart!! This book took me through every emotion I posses. I initially thought it was a light contemporary book, easy summer reading. Then... half way through the book we get a serious plot twist that I wasn't expecting and from that moment on it took me on a roller coaster of feelings!

    The characters are well developed and perfectly imperfect, I loved Ella as a main character and Jamie just gave me all of the best love interest vibes. I felt so connected to each of their lives, which isn'
    ...more

  • Maddison

    I received this book through a Goodreads Giveaway.

    I had really high hopes for "My Oxford Year," but upon finishing it, I really can't bear to give it more than a single star. Where do I even begin?

    So much of this story is unbelievable, and not in a good way. I wasn't convinced that the main character was (A) a Rhodes scholar, (B) 24-going-on-25 years old, and (C) being recruited by an American presidential candidate's team based on a single article she wrote for The Atlantic. So much of her back
    ...more

  • Elyse

    Audiobook...read by author

    Julia Whelan

    Julia is terrific with a slight detached sound to her voice. Other times she has a kick-ass attitude which comes across in her sounds...

    always changing her voice range & emotional manifestation to fit the prose she wrote. She does this well.

    The book has some intellectual academic charm...

    with love in the Oxford air.

    Heartwarming!

    3.5. I enjoyed it...not Earth Shaking — but enjoyable!!!!

  • Eliza



    ★5 STARS★

    For American, Ella Durran, attending Oxford University on the prestige Rhodes Scholarship is the culmination of years of hard work and determination. The idea was born during a tumultuous period in her adolescence so she fully intends to embrace this incredible experience and opportunity of a lifetime

    Her visions of her first experiences in Oxford do not include a near miss with a local and his car, but alas that’s exactly what happens. Off to a false start, she hits refresh with the h ...more

  • Kate Olson

    Thanks to the publisher for this finished copy for review purposes!

    Let's start with what I loved, shall we? I LOVED the Oxford setting and everything about the descriptions about Oxford life. I loved the pubs, Ella's friends, all of it. Seriously, that alone gets 5 stars from me!

    Now, for the hmmmmm. I wasn't blown away by the romance and while it was touching, I felt like I should have been moved MORE??? I'm not sure why and how, but I was left feeling like it was fine, a middling 3.

    Okay, now f
    ...more

  • Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞

    3.5-4 ★'s

    “I came to Oxford for a Once-in-a-Lifetime Experience. I chose to experience a lifetime.”

    Obviously, the title gives you an idea of what the story is about and when Ella meets Jamie, you know he is a foregone conclusion. Unfortunately, after that things get muddled.

    Ella is a poli sci and history grad taking a school year at Oxford studying English literature 1830-1914. 'Nuff said? Yes, it's all that and more. The author writes above most people's heads...she definitely wrote above my p
    ...more