Read The Romanov Empress by C.W. Gortner Online

The Romanov Empress

For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish girl who became the mother of the last Russian tsar.Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule. Narrated by the mother of Russias last tsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russias most compelling women who witnessed the splendor and tragic downfall of the Romanovs as she fought to save her dynasty in the final years of its long reign. Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriageas her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victorias eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir and becomes empress once he ascends the throne. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Mi...

Title : The Romanov Empress
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780425286180
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 274 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Romanov Empress Reviews

  • Angela M

    This is a journey through Russian history from 1862 - 1918, the court of the Romanovs, who considered themselves ordained by God to rule. It’s compelling and dramatic and a fabulous way to read history through C.W. Gortner’s portrayal. I wish I could think of words better than compelling and dramatic to describe this book, but in truth it is these things. It’s the story of the Romanov dynasty, but in essence it’s Maria Feodorovna’s story. She was spirited , intelligent, beautiful, stubborn, a de ...more

  • Krista

    Rating: 4.5 stars rounded down to 4 stars

    This book was riveting! I knew a proverbial car crash was eminent, but I couldn’t look away. Much has been written about the ill-fated Tsar Nicholas II, his wife Tsarina Alexandra; and the mystery surrounding their deaths and the deaths of their five children in 1918 during the Bolshevik years in Russia. I suspect that many readers are probably at least slightly familiar with this generation of the Imperial Russian Romanov dynasty. In The Romanov Empress,
    ...more

  • Tammy

    I was mesmerized by Empress Maria, a Danish girl from Denmark who was the mother of Russia’s last tsar, Nicholas. Beautifully written this novel transports you back in time with her marriage to Russia’s tsar through the extermination of her son and his family, along with another son marking the end of the Romanov Family Dynasty in power for 300 years. Eloquently spoken by the woman who fought to save it, her story was amazing to read. A dramatic page turner for me. I absolutely loved it! A must ...more

  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader

    5 huge stars to The Romanov Empress! ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

    Historical fiction fans will not want to miss C.W. Gortner’s latest novel! I would also offer, if you enjoy perfect storytelling involving an enthralling and strong woman, this book is also for you.

    The Romanov Empress is narrated by the mother of Russia’s last tsar. Maria (formerly “Minnie”) Feodorovna is born a Danish princess; however, while her family has rank due to title, it is low on funds. Her story begins when she is a teen, and her sister,
    ...more

  • Joyce

    5 stars

    This is Minnie’s story as told by her. It is the mid-1860’s in Denmark. Minnie is the second daughter of newly elevated Danish royalty. Her father became King and her mother, she later sees, is the power behind the throne.

    Following her sister Alix’s marriage to Prince Albert “Bertie”, Queen Victoria’s son, Minnie was betrothed to Nixa. Nixa was the heir apparent to the Russian throne. Dubious, but willing to meet him, Minnie falls in love. Following a fall from his horse, Nixa came down
    ...more

  • Katie

    WOW, what a book! This was my first attempt at reading about the Romanovs in any capacity and it was quite an introduction. It took me a month to read this, but I enjoyed that time immensely.

    I’ve read a few of C.W. Gortner’s books and they seem to be polarizing for me. This was definitely one of the better ones. We follow Princess Dagmar, known as “Minnie”, over the course of her very long life, from her childhood in Denmark, to her sister’s wedding in England (where we meet an aging Victoria);
    ...more

  • BAM The Bibliomaniac

    Netgalley # 13

    3.5 stars not quite a 4 for me

    Many thanks go to C W Gortner, Ballantine Books, and Netgalley for the free copy of this book in exchange for my unbiased review.

    This is the fictional retelling of Princess Dagmar of Denmark, Her Majesty Alix's older sister, who is affianced to Tsarevich Nixa but married his brother, Sasha. They became the parents of Tsar Nicolas of the Russian Revolution, which does take up the end of the book, but it is not the sole topic-not nearly. Most of it deals
    ...more

  • Cheri

    “Don’t you know

    They’re talkin’ bout a revolution

    It sounds like a whisper”


    --“Talkin’ Bout a Revolution,” Tracy Chapman, Songwriters: Tracy Chapman

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q2wne...

    Danish princesses, the daughters of the man who would come to be Denmark’s King Christian IX, Marie Sophie Frederikke Dagmar, Minnie, or Dagmar to her father, and her older sister, Alexandra, Alix, were both predestined to marry into royalty. Alix, of course, would marry first, and married Edward VII (Albert Ed
    ...more