Read The Romanov Empress by C.W. Gortner Online

The Romanov Empress

For readers of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir comes a dramatic novel of the beloved Empress Maria, the Danish girl who became the mother of the last Russian tsar.Even from behind the throne, a woman can rule. Narrated by the mother of Russias last tsar, this vivid, historically authentic novel brings to life the courageous story of Maria Feodorovna, one of Imperial Russias most compelling women who witnessed the splendor and tragic downfall of the Romanovs as she fought to save her dynasty in the final years of its long reign. Barely nineteen, Minnie knows that her station in life as a Danish princess is to leave her family and enter into a royal marriageas her older sister Alix has done, moving to England to wed Queen Victorias eldest son. The winds of fortune bring Minnie to Russia, where she marries the Romanov heir and becomes empress once he ascends the throne. When resistance to his reign strikes at the heart of her family and the tsar sets out to crush all who oppose him, Mi...

Title : The Romanov Empress
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780425286180
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 568 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Romanov Empress Reviews

  • Kristy K

    I love learning about history. Especially that of times and people that aren’t as well known as say, WWII or King Henry VIII. Yet as much as I love learning about it, reading about it can at times be a bore. Enter historical fiction. While, obviously, fictionalized these accounts are brought to life and give us a glimpse into what events may have been like (and hopefully educate us a little along the way).

    Most of us know about the Romanov dynasty because of Catherine the Great, Peter the Great,
    ...more

  • Lilisa

    The central figure of this book is Maria Feodorovna or Minnie, the mother of the last tsar of Russia. Of the royal house of Denmark, Minnie wasn’t meant to marry the tsar she did…Accepting her fate, she takes on the role of empress and becomes the strong, influential wife of the tsar. Despite not being Russian, she holds her own and becomes a crucial part of the court. But all’s not well with uprisings becoming frequent and devastating. Her reign as empress transitions when her husband dies - pa ...more

  • Carole P. Roman

    CW Gortner writes enjoyable history. Princess Dagmar-Minnie- Maria Feodorovona comes alive in this book that takes her from an unknown Danish princess to the Empress of Russia and the mother of the ill-fated Nicholas II.

    I enjoyed the way Gortner depicted how she embraced her new life, learned to love her husband, and raised her growing brood of Grand Dukes and Duchess as the night dimmed on the days of Emperors and Empresses and the blaze of revolution laid waste to their privileged world.

    Gortn
    ...more

  • Cheri

    “Don’t you know

    They’re talkin’ bout a revolution

    It sounds like a whisper”


    --“Talkin’ Bout a Revolution,” Tracy Chapman, Songwriters: Tracy Chapman

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q2wne...

    Danish princesses, the daughters of the man who would come to be Denmark’s King Christian IX, Marie Sophie Frederikke Dagmar, Minnie, or Dagmar to her father, and her older sister, Alexandra, Alix, were both predestined to marry into royalty. Alix, of course, would marry first, and married Edward VII (Albert Ed
    ...more

  • Lori

    Fantastic! Nicholas II and his family will always be one of history’s greatest tragedies. Revolutions don’t come about from one event, they come from many, many years of strife. It was interesting seeing these events unfold through Minnie’s eyes. She was a formidable woman that was as devoted to Russia as she was to her family. Gortner is a fantastic writer that puts life into his characters and enables history to come alive through his writing. Highly recommend.

  • Joyce

    5 stars

    This is Minnie’s story as told by her. It is the mid-1860’s in Denmark. Minnie is the second daughter of newly elevated Danish royalty. Her father became King and her mother, she later sees, is the power behind the throne.

    Following her sister Alix’s marriage to Prince Albert “Bertie”, Queen Victoria’s son, Minnie was betrothed to Nixa. Nixa was the heir apparent to the Russian throne. Dubious, but willing to meet him, Minnie falls in love. Following a fall from his horse, Nixa came down
    ...more

  • Holly  B

    A compelling fictional story based on the life of Empress Maria Feodorovna and narrated by the mother of Russia's prior tsar.  She was the Princess Dagmar of Denmark before marrying the heir to the Russian throne.  She goes by "Minnie" and at the tender age of nineteen begins a life that will take her down many paths.

    I was fascinated with the ambiance of the time period in Russia.  Luxurious living, the royal jewels and all the Russian culture to the heartbreak of disease and war, this was such
    ...more

  • Sonja Arlow

    2.5 stars

    Maybe I should just admit to myself once and for all that I am just not that interested in the Romanovs.

    I also don’t think the first person narrative worked very well. Empress Maria spent a lot more time discussing the royal jewels than contemplating the suffering of the Russian people that lead to the revolution. You don’t get to understand how and why the Russian people suffered more and more with each new tsar.

    I mean who wants to read about starving peasants when there are dresses an
    ...more