Read Scream All Night by Derek Milman Online

Scream All Night

A darkly hilarious contemporary realistic young adult novel about growing up and finding your place in the world, perfect for fans of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl and Running With Scissors.Dario Heyward knows one thing: Hes never going back to Moldavia Studios, the iconic castle that served as the set, studio, and home to the cast and crew of dozens of cult classic B-horror movies. Its been three years since Darios even seen the place, after getting legally emancipated from his father, the infamous director of Moldavias creature features.But then Darios brother invites him home to a mysterious ceremony involving his father and a tribute to his first filmThe Curse of the Mummys Tongue.Dario swears his homecoming will be a one-time visit. A way for him to get closure on his pastand reunite with Hayley, his first love and costar ofZombie Children of the Harvest Sun,a production fraught with real-life tragedyand say good-bye for good. But the unthinkable happensDario gets sucked back int...

Title : Scream All Night
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 32928987
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 400 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Scream All Night Reviews

  • Keegan David

    I'm a horror freak. And I also like Monty Python, Fawlty Towers, AbFab, National Lampoon and an old show from the 90's, Kids In the Hall. So this book was perfect for me. I laughed, and enjoy reading about living in a horror studio that is also a creepy castle. Well I laughed. That's for sure. And I loved all the movie making references, and the paralelles to old horror movies that they used to show late at night. But what I didn't expect to do was want to call my mom, my dad, and my brother. Th ...more

  • Books and Guacamole

    This book was absolutely everything I hoped it would be and more!! The setting at a B-movie horror studio was the perfect combination of camp and creativity, with both perfectly ridiculous and truly tragic touches. I laughed out loud more times than I can count (especially when reading Oren’s script—seriously I could have read this book for Oren’s hilarious script alone). But on top of the humor and the gothic, SCREAM ALL NIGHT is also emotional and touching. Dario’s healing journey was nuanced ...more

  • Cameron Chaney

    Sometimes as a writer, I'll read a book that I believe to be perfect in every way and, even though I love it, I also kind of hate it because I'm incredibly jealous of the author's skill to write something so flawless. Scream All Night by Derek Milman is one of those books.

    The story follows 17-year-old Dario (yes, named after the Italian Giallo-film director) who grew up in Moldavia Studios, a literal spooky castle owned by his film-director father. Moldavia filmed and produced many, many cult ho
    ...more

  • Lindsay

    Before reading SCREAM ALL NIGHT, I’d heard it was a hilarious, campy, slightly creepy and fascinating tribute to B-horror movies. And don’t get me wrong, it completely delivered on all of these things. But I wasn’t prepared for it to emotionally wreck me the way it did! Hiding in the cobwebbed corners of this wonderful book are some tender, heart-wrenching, completely beautiful moments, and these were my favorite parts of the story – they both surprised and completely gutted me.

    OK, a little more
    ...more

  • Rachel Solomon

    One of the most unique YAs I've read in a long time! The setting - a castle where protagonist Dario's father has filmed dozens of B-horror movies - is creepy and quirky and deeply immersive. Film is one of the toughest mediums to write about because it's so visual, but Derek Milman truly brings it to life. SCREAM ALL NIGHT gave me major Clue and Rocky Horror vibes; fans of those types of cult classics will gobble up this book.

  • Katherine Salmon

    Happy Thursday Night Owls! You guys are in for a treat today because I’m finally sharing my review of Scream All Night by Derek Milman. He was kind enough to send me a copy of his debut novel, and I’m so happy he did because I loved this book so much. It also happens to be released on my birthday, which is July 24th. You guys should pick it up on its release date because you’ll love it. 4.5/5 stars from me!

    In this novel, we follow Dario Hayward, whose family runs Moldavia Studio. Moldavia was a
    ...more

  • Max Baker

    Thank you Edelweiss for providing me a DRC in exchange for an honest review

    I love horror films and so-bad-there-gold ones are a staple of the genre. Milman takes monster movies, gratuitous gore, ridiculous logic and not only writes a love letter to the genre, but weaves a truly impactful story about abuse and the lingering effects it has on a person. It's dark, it's hopeful, and it's got just the right amount of ridiculousness to make me smile right when I needed it.

    Scream All Night follows Dari
    ...more

  • Deborah Schaumberg

    Reviewing ARC -

    Scream All night is one of those books that takes you late into the night, losing track of time, because you can not put it down! It's clever and well-written, funny and sad, and thoroughly enjoyable. I loved a peek into the movie-making world, and the characters are so fully developed I feel like I know them personally, like I might see one of them in an upcoming B-horror flick! I also loved how the family dynamics and dysfunction felt very, very real. Great book!