Read Scream All Night by Derek Milman Online

Scream All Night

A darkly hilarious contemporary realistic young adult novel about growing up and finding your place in the world, perfect for fans of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl and Running With Scissors.Dario Heyward knows one thing: Hes never going back to Moldavia Studios, the iconic castle that served as the set, studio, and home to the cast and crew of dozens of cult classic B-horror movies. Its been three years since Darios even seen the place, after getting legally emancipated from his father, the infamous director of Moldavias creature features.But then Darios brother invites him home to a mysterious ceremony involving his father and a tribute to his first filmThe Curse of the Mummys Tongue.Dario swears his homecoming will be a one-time visit. A way for him to get closure on his pastand reunite with Hayley, his first love and costar ofZombie Children of the Harvest Sun,a production fraught with real-life tragedyand say good-bye for good. But the unthinkable happensDario gets sucked back int...

Title : Scream All Night
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 32928987
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 400 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Scream All Night Reviews

  • Brian Williams

    Derek Milman's Scream All Night is one of those books that I can't get out of my head. I've read it a couple of times now, and it grows richer and deeper each time. On the surface, it's a dark comedy. But as you delve deeper into the world, there is a tragic, almost gothic (in both the traditional literary sense, and the "goth" sense) story lurking underneath the farcical scenes of filmmaking chaos and the wry commentary of our hero, Dario Heyward.

    At first glance, you might think Dario has an e
    ...more

  • Katya Becerra

    The verdict: Don't miss this amazing debut! Unique and complex, SCREAM ALL NIGHT is a story of a reluctant heir to a movie empire at peril. Come for the love of horror movies, stay for the coming-of-age story of facing down your childhood demons. Oh, and all the quirky jokes! The book deals with some heavy topics, too, but handles those well and in a respectful manner.

    P.S. Finishing this book has left me with this unquenchable thirst to establish my own horror movie studio AND to live in a cast
    ...more

  • Kristi Housman Confessions of a YA Reader

    This book really surprised me.  Not only did it have the horror movie setting, but it was funny and touching.

    First a few warnings for abuse from a parent, mental illness, drug abuse,and miscarriage.  There are also parts that are pretty gory while discussing the movies.  I think most people requesting this are probably ok with gore though.

    Dario is a 17 year old kid living in a group home.  He left his family home at 12 because of abuse and neglect.  His family home was Moldavia where all his dad
    ...more

  • Amelinda Bérubé

    I can't remember the last book that made me laugh this hard, but under the wild zombie makeup this story has a beating, compassionate heart. I will be foisting this with great glee upon all my Rocky Horror-loving weirdo friends who played screaming heads and chainsaw killers at the local Haunted Barn - but I think anyone will recognize Dario's struggle to face his monsters and claim his place.

  • Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~

    Moldavia is a huge castle on the Heyward estate that also serves as a studio for the family's B-horror movie company, Moldavia Studios. Following an odd childhood of starring in his father's films & enduring his abuses, Dario has become emancipated & currently resides in a group home.

    After the passing of his father, 17-year-old Dario is recruited back to the place of his worst nightmares.

    This book has one of the more unique premises I've read in the Young Adult genre. It gets a bit diff
    ...more

  • Jordan Milman

    Derek Milman's Scream All Night is a triumph of the YA genre that transcends strict adherence to categoric norms. Part dark comedy, part soulful coming-of-age story, part family drama, the narrative is propelled by Dario's distinctively tortured yet truly funny voice. Milman somehow makes this erudite but unmistakably Millennial protagonist relatable - and likeable- to readers of all stripes by giving him an unironic moral core that anchors the story amidst all manner of zany and even downright ...more

  • destiny ♎ [howling libraries]

    I'm sorry, I can't finish this. I was sent an email offering me a copy, and my strongest instinct told me it wouldn't be a good fit for me, but I love horror films, so I went against my intuition and accepted the ARC, and now I'm regretting that decision. I hate not finishing ARCs, but I was literally having to put myself on a weird reward system to even continue this (like, "if I read one chapter of this, I can read 30 pages of *insert other book* next!"), and that's not healthy.

    Right from the
    ...more

  • Katherine Salmon

    Happy Thursday Night Owls! You guys are in for a treat today because I’m finally sharing my review of Scream All Night by Derek Milman. He was kind enough to send me a copy of his debut novel, and I’m so happy he did because I loved this book so much. It also happens to be released on my birthday, which is July 24th. You guys should pick it up on its release date because you’ll love it. 4.5/5 stars from me!

    In this novel, we follow Dario Hayward, whose family runs Moldavia Studio. Moldavia was a
    ...more