Read A Simple Favor by Darcey Bell Online

A Simple Favor

Shes your best friend.She knows all your secrets.Thats why shes so dangerous.A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. It starts with a simple favoran ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being togetherjust like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time. But Emily doesnt come back. She doesnt answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrongEmily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to...

Title : A Simple Favor
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780062497772
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 304 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

A Simple Favor Reviews

  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)

    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/

    WARNING: SPOILAGE APLENTY

    “You’d be amazed by what people will do. Things they’d never admit to anyone—not even to themselves.”



    Okay, no one is amaaaaaazed by what people will do anymore. Especially in a myster/thriller. Double especially when that mystery/thriller is actually “the next Gone Girl” and when it was released Gillian Flynn was probably all like . . . .



    But I’m getting ahead of myself. The premise here is a friend asks a
    ...more

  • Judy Collins

    I listened to A SIMPLE FAVOR audiobook last year, a debut thriller novel by Darcey Bell. At the time I had a lot going on and never had the time to write my review. I decided to go back and re-listen to the audiobook. (currently listening).

    I am looking forward to the movie coming out Sept 14, 2018 (my birthday)! Love the new book cover and movie-tie-in. Reminds me of Her Pretty Face by Robyn Harding (loved).

    "A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chi
    ...more

  • Ken

    From the outset I should mention that I’m a big Anna Kendrick fan, so when I first saw the trailer for the movie I instantly wanted to see it.

    I felt that once you know all the surprises in this mystery thriller it would impact the reading experience, so quickly ordered a copy of the book first.

    The story opens with Stephanie a blogger who is asked by her friend Emily the simple favour of picking her son up from school.

    Having not heard from her for days Stephanie starts to panic and uses her blog
    ...more

  • Amanda McGill

    I'm surprised by my 1 star rating, but reflecting upon the plot this morning, I realized that I didn't like the book at all. It was filled with unlikable characters and the plot was pretty weak if you remove all the fluff surrounding it.

    Stephanie and Emily are best friends. Emily asked Stephanie one day to pick up her son after school, but then Stephanie doesn't hear anything else from Emily. A search is underway, but Emily is found to be dead. What could of made Emily go missing? Does Stephani
    ...more

  • Dylan

    1 star.

    The only reason I read this was because I wanted to see the movie starring Anna Kendrick, which is coming out this fall, but after reading this I'm not quite sure I want to watch it anymore.

    First off, I HATED ALL OF THESE CHARACTERS. Sure, I'm fine with some likeable characters, but with a story that's as big of high stakes as this, you need to be able to root for someone, but I was honestly rooting for the "villain" of the story because I wanted to scream every time Stephanie had page t
    ...more

  • Michele Jacobsen

    Okay....unreliable narrators (three of them, variously 1st POV throughout the novel), faked deaths, crappy marriages, incest, hidden siblings, etc should have made this book better than it actually was. In a nutshell, the story is about two best friends and one (or both?) of them is ala Gone Girl treacherous. It's got a very fast-moving plot and lots of "revelations" in which the reader is constantly presented with new information that is meant to change your mind about who is good and who is ba ...more

  • Alli

  • Laura

    After the movie ended, I asked Emily, “Do you think real people would ever do things like that?”

    Emily laughed. “Sweet Stephanie. You’d be amazed by what people will do. Things they’d never admit to anyone - not even to themselves.”


    It all begins with a simple favor. You are asked to pick up your best friend's son from school when an emergency at work arises. It all makes sense anyway because your sons are best friends too. It'll be fine because she says she'll need to see her son after such a h ...more