Read When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi Online

When Breath Becomes Air

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a nave medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What...

Title : When Breath Becomes Air
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 25899336
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 208 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

When Breath Becomes Air Reviews

  • Philipp

    alternative title: "How the upper class dies"

    Autobiographical book by a guy who's trained and studied all his life, nearly became a writer, then chose to become a doctor instead (that's what happens when you come from a family of medical doctors), and is diagnosed with cancer at the end of his training. Torschlusspanik [1] sets in and he has to write that one book he always wanted to write. It's partially an autobiography of his training, a hymn to his wife, and a bit on patient-doctor relations
    ...more

  • Petra X

    I finished the book. I'm glad that I perservered with it. It's quite an odd book and an overall rating might be the sum of the parts, but is not going to reflect the writing or content of those parts. Ratings, part I, 1 star, part II, 3 stars and part III, 5 stars.

    The first part, the foreword, by Abraham Verghese, was verbose, hagiographic and contradictory (view spoiler). He said he didn't know the author at all until after his death. Then he says well he did me
    ...more

  • Sara Kamjou

    همین الان این کتاب رو تموم کردم که دارم این ریویو رو مینویسم. ترجیح دادم نوشتنش بلافاصله باشه تا شاید بتونم حتی شده بخش کوچیکی از حسم نسبت به این کتاب رو انتقال بدم.

    خوندن این کتاب رو تموم کردم و قلبم فشرده شده و در عین حال از هیجان میکوبه. فشردگی از غم و هیجان از آموختههای لذتبخش و سهیم شدن در جهانبینی عمیق یک انسانِ به واقع انسان.

    قصد داشتم کتاب رو جرعه جرعه بخونم تا لذت خوندنش برام تا مدتی ادامه پیدا کنه و بتونم بیشتر مست بشم و عمیقتر بهره ببرم اما خب افسوس که وقتی به چیزی بیش از اندازه لذتبخش
    ...more

  • Amanda

    When Breath Becomes Air is one of the most beautifully written, heartbreaking, and affecting memoirs I have ever read. Even though the book is incredibly sad, it is ultimately life affirming and worth the emotional investment.

    At the age of thirty-six, Paul Kalanthi, a doctor nearing the completion of his neurosurgeon training, is diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. This revelation becomes a dividing line in his life, something of a reversal of fortune. Paul goes from being a healthy physician w
    ...more

  • Raeleen Lemay

    This was such a beautiful, touching book! Not going to lie, the epilogue by Paul's wife nearly made me cry. SO GOOD. I also highly recommend the audiobook, although the narrator's voice was so soothing that sometimes I found myself not listening to him speak... my bad.

  • Seemita

    [Originally appeared here (with edits): http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/li...]

    It has been a few days since I turned the last page of this book. But the numbness reappears the instant I allow the pages to unfold in my memory. The silence which suddenly parts to let these memories seep in and cloud my vision, fills the air. Even as I grapple to make ‘sense’ of what it means to lose a dear, dear one, I, ironically, already know that very ‘sense’ to be ephemeral. No part of my being accepts death
    ...more

  • Lindsay - Traveling Sister

    4.5 stars! What an emotional book! Dr. Paul Kalanithi was a neurosurgical resident entering his final year of training when he was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. This memoir is Paul's story for his daughter, Cady, who was 8 months old when he passed away, just 22 months after his cancer diagnosis. Among other things, Paul writes about his career, his love for his family, his views on the 'doctor and patient relationship' and his eventual transistion from doctor to patient.

    Something that r
    ...more

  • Kelli

    With over 1200 reviews in just over a month, there isn't much I can say that hasn't been said. I'm not sure I even need to acknowledge the brilliance, ambition, tenacity, curiosity, and endurance this man possessed or the fact that he wrote in a way that felt conversational and genuine, even when discussing procedures of the brain and medical school examples well outside most people's normal realm. His wife's epilogue was extremely well-written and reduced me to tears, as did his note to his bab ...more