Read Awkward by Svetlana Chmakova Online

Awkward

Cardinal rule #1 for surviving school: Don't get noticed by the mean kids.Cardinal rule #2 for surviving school: Seek out groups with similar interests and join them.On her first day at her new school, Penelope--Peppi--Torres reminds herself of these basics. But when she trips into a quiet boy in the hall, Jaime Thompson, she's already broken the first rule, and the mean kids start calling her the "nerder girlfriend." How does she handle this crisis? By shoving poor Jaime and running away!Falling back on rule two and surrounding herself with new friends in the art club, Peppi still can't help feeling ashamed about the way she treated Jaime. Things are already awkward enough between the two, but to make matters worse, he's a member of her own club's archrivals--the science club! And when the two clubs go to war, Peppi realizes that sometimes you have to break the rules to survive middle school!...

Title : Awkward
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780316381307
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 224 pages
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

Awkward Reviews

  • First Second Books

    Gina says:

    One of the things I really liked about this book was how diverse it was.

    It wasn’t just that the main character was diverse (though she is), but that the background characters represent a good mix of genders, ethnicities, and abilities – both at school and at home. It really felt like the author thought about every single character she put into the book and made them represent people from all around our culture – in a really seamless way.

    Yay for that!

    Calista says:

    I read this book too!
    ...more

  • Erica

    So adorable!

    I'm glad I read the second book, Brave, first because it put this one into a more favorable context; I think I'd have been peevish in my reading had I not known what comes next. Awkward is a little awkward, it doesn't quite have its flow, yet. Everything that comes off so gracefully in the next book - diverse characters, middle-school problems, family problems - feel a little more forced, less organic, in this first volume.

    Regardless, it's a great start, following the very likeable a
    ...more

  • Ms. Yingling

    Graphic novel. Fans of Roller Girl, Smile, etc. will love it.

    Science Club and Art Club fight for table at club fair. Art club doesn't do much, Science club wins awards but has obnoxious students. Main character, Peppi Torres has embarrassing encounter with Jaime on her first day and feels bad, but can't bring herself to apologize. Clubs try to earn place, both goof up. Peppi cries a lot.

    Thank goodness that my middle school experience, while horrible, was not this fraught. I did like this enoug
    ...more

  • Serena

    Compared to the second book in the series, this one is average. (Brave (the second book) is one of the best graphic novels I’ve read – honestly, it’s amazing READ IT NOW.) Awkward actually – well, the storyline is cliche. I got occasionally bored while reading it, but it was overall fun and a huge mood-lifter.

    First – this is a spoiler, I guess, but it doesn’t really matter (in my opinion) – I’m so glad that Jaime and Peppi’s relationship didn’t get romantic. They’re good friends by the end of th
    ...more

  • P.

    Chmakova is giving Raina Telgemeier a run for her money with this fast-paced but chock full of social-lessons story. But I'm not one to pit women comics writers and illustrators against each other just because they are good at what they do. Really I'm just so happy that this is published so I have more great books in the same vein to recommend to teens and tweens. This isn't a Telgemeier rip off, it is another book of great quality. A story of a new girl who makes a mistake on her first day and ...more

  • Renata

    This is really sweet and funny! I appreciated the lesson that sometimes people can do shitty things just because they're feeling nervous and that amends can still be made. And the art is adorable! A great one for Raina Telgemeier devotees.

  • Elizabeth (Lizlsi)

    I really liked this because it shows how girls and boys can be friends too, and this was a pretty short read (for me, at least).

  • leslie delgadillo

    *spoiler warning*Haven't read and don't want to it too be spoiled? then don't read!Have you ever had those awkward moments with friends especially with new ones?well I have and Penelope and Jamie the main characters of awkward have too. The genre of the book is realistic fiction. Awkward was a good book because it's realistic,relatable and connection with the reader at certain points.

    So in the book awkward Penelope goes to a new school and on her first they trips and falls and Jamie comes to hel
    ...more